Asus m2ne-Sli mobo and my Processor not recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2008, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Asus m2ne-Sli mobo and my Processor not recognized

First time poster, I recently built my new system.I have a Asus m2ne-sli Mobo, and an Amd64 x2 6000 processor,
the problem I seem to be having is neither windows xp sp2,or my mobo bios seem to be recognizing my processor model . Windows seems to kno its a dual core no Problem, im shure I have the most current bios for my mobo from the asus site,I also have my Amd drivers up to date for my processor.Any suggestions or steps I need to take would greatly be appreciated, or if more information is need I can post it no problem.

Also i was going to ask if anyone could tell me if with this motherboard I currently have if I will be able to upgrade to a Amd Phenom Processor. From my inital noobie look At the Mother board it seems to suport them can anyone confirm this ?
__________________

Ash80 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Asus m2ne-Sli mobo and my Processor not recognized

The problem with the unrecognized cpu is most likely a bios bug.
Go get the program called cpu-z, see if that will recognize your processor.

Also on the asus site, it doesn't seem to support the phenom right now...maybe later on they will release a bios update for it.

It you look on the bios version 0902 the description says this:

M2N-E SLI BIOS version 0902
Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
Fixed system will show "AMD Processor Model Unknown" when AM2 6000+ CPU is installed.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Asus m2ne-Sli mobo and my Processor not recognized

yes cpu-z does recognize my processor model.
is there some where i need to get newer drivers or somthing ?
Ash80 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Asus m2ne-Sli mobo and my Processor not recognized

If you already have the newest bios I don't think there is anything else you can do. As long as everything is working fine you shouldn't worry about it.
brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.