Asus K8N - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2006, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default Asus K8N

Hey,

I've had my Asus K8N mobo for about 2 years now, and recently, about 2 months ago, the audio started to bugger up. While any audio is playing, whether it be from music, movies or games, it kind of clicks and skips every minute or so. This is very annoying and unusual to me. I've tried re-installing the drivers, but to no avail. I've downloaded the updated drivers and run the setup but it opens the install wizard and closes itself. I've formatted my PC to try and circumvent the problem but that hasn't helped either. I purchased another sound card, and the same problem occurs.

Please Help!

Thanks.
__________________

blackmesa is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 05:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

bump
__________________

blackmesa is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

maybe the speakers are screwed up?
try a different pair and see if it continues giving u issues
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I've tried headphones, and two different sets of speakers but nothing seems to work!
blackmesa is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try downloading a codec
http://www.free-codecs.com/K_Lite_Co...k_download.htm
Download [ K-Lite Codec Pack 2.81 FULL ]
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I have the mega k-lite codec pack, and I've tried many media players, including WMP, VLC, BS, and MPC. Thanks for the suggestions though.
__________________

blackmesa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.