Asus A8V question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2006, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Asus A8V question

Hey all, first post here.

I have a question, I just upgraded to an AMD X2 4200+ and when i purchased the mobo I got an Asus A8V. My question is this; When I assembled my rig, i put the memory modules into the blue slots first as per the manual. But i don't have dual channel ram, and i'm not sure I put it in the right slot. Can anyone check out this link, and see if they can tell me if I put the ram into the right slots.

LINK

These are my memory slots, i have the ram in the blue slots,
(the first & third slots) completely skipping A2, is this correct? because i'm having performance problems, it doesn't seem like I've upgraded at all.

1st & 3rd slot are blue.
[] [] [] []

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Kain77 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

according to the manual when having 2 sticks for dual channel you should put em on slots A1 & B1 (the 2 blue ones) so yes you puted em properly , and just to make it clear dual channel isnt a ram feature (although alot of ram sticks are being sold in identical pairs as *dual channel* to avoid stability/compatability issues) dual channel is a feature in various motherboard chipsets and its supported on your mobo however you gotta use same size sticks otherwise it wont run in dual channel for example 256+512 wont run in dual channel but 512+512 will , better have at least pc3200/ddr400 otherwise it will kinda limit the performance as the ram must handle the processor fsb (200) and ddr400 runs at 200 so..

the performance issues your experiencing might be caused by spyware or resource hogging software/s that run on startup , please be more specific on what the issues are exactly

edit forgot to ask , what processor did you previously had?
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for your help jeremy.

ok so the ram I have installed isn't dual channel, they are the same size, 512 x 512 but not by the same manufacturer. so that's why i was wondering if I should of installed the ram on A1 & A2 instead.

My old cpu was an AMD athlon 64 (skt 754). that's why i had to upgrade the mobo when i bought the cpu.


My rig for reference:
AMD X2 4200+
Asus A8V mobo
XFX Nvidia 6800 GS AGP
1gb ddr 400 ram
sound blaster audigy 2 value
Kain77 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Put them in the first and second slot, it will work.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Bump
Kain77 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

what else do you wanna know? you alredy got your answer so i have no clue , try to be more specific ..
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

ah ok

so your saying it's not a memory feature? any ram that's the same size can utilize the dual channel feature on my mobo?
Kain77 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

yeah its a chipset feature , and thats correct as long as same sizes also as long as its 2 or 4 sticks , 3 cant work in dual channel even if same size
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

great, thanks again man, sorry about the misunderstanding
__________________

Kain77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.