asus a7s333 won't boot, 1 long 3 short beeps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default asus a7s333 won't boot, 1 long 3 short beeps

I've had that computer for years and now it won't boot. Just one long and three short beeps. Help!
__________________

jcmoral is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What does your manual say?

You can find out what the beep mean on their website also.
http://www.asus.com/

But its either Video card, RAM, CPU or motherboard. (Usally, there are many more meaning to different beeps depending on manufacturer)

I suggest trying differen't RAM or Video card first as they are more common problems.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Don't have the manual, unfortunately. Looked all over the web but the links (including the official site) to the manual are dead.
jcmoral is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm#08

1 long, 3 short: Conventional/Extended memory failure
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Do you have two sticks of RAM? boot with one and then the other till you find that bad one. That way, you won't be stuck without a PC till you can get more RAM.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

I only have one stick of RAM. I'll try replacing that first. Thanks all!
__________________

jcmoral is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.