aspect ratio? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2007, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default aspect ratio?

I recently got a new monitor and the aspect ratio is stuck on 5:3 when I would like it to be 4:3. I've tried messing with the settings on the front of the monitor but it won't allow me to change it. I'm thinking my video card might be blocking it. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
calvinandhobbes is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: aspect ratio?

what kind of video card do you have, and have you updated to the latest drivers?

if its nvidia try playing w/ the nvidia control panel for resolutions

and if its ATi go through catalyst to play w /the desktop options
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: aspect ratio?

its an ati radeon 9200 and the drivers are all up to date, i've tried changing the desktop options, but to no avail
__________________
calvinandhobbes is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: aspect ratio?

hrm 4:3 thats weird, thats just about standard aspect

i have a similar problem w/ the 9250 at my work trying to get it to do 16:10 or 16:9... i've yet to conquer that problem.. i'll try looking into that for you
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: aspect ratio?

gracias
__________________
calvinandhobbes is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: aspect ratio?

well ati/amd site is completely useless, try using some ati omega drivers

OmegaDrivers.net - Home of the Omega Drivers for ATI & NVIDIA desktop/laptop cards. By: Omegadrive
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: aspect ratio?

it worked. hooray!

thanks for your help
__________________
calvinandhobbes is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: aspect ratio?

glad to know i helped.. now i should try this out at my work!

ATI DRIVER SUPPORT FOR THE LOOSE
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FSB:RAM Ratio question VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 34 01-22-2008 09:13 PM
Propblem gettin fixed aspect ratio DarkLegion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-12-2007 06:49 PM
how do u adjust the widescreen ratio when connecting to a HDTV? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-19-2007 12:20 PM
How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-01-2007 10:12 PM
Widescreen - Aspect Ratio Scaling Problems Jewels Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-02-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.