Artifacting on aero. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2009, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Artifacting on aero.

So i just bought an entirely new computer and installed windows 7 and everything was working fine. About a week ago my display began artifacting every so often, most commonly on the Aero effects or right click menus of windows. It usually occurred right after closing a game. It also occurs on my steam overlay and on some in-game pause menus.

I turned off some of the aero effects and i rarely see it on my desktop anymore, but still get it in the other areas.

A friend with higher tech experience than me said something of this nature happened to him once and the problem had been directx and the only way he could solve it was a reinstall of windows.

Is this really a necessary step that i will need to take?

If you need specs:
directx 11
radeon 5870
core i7 d0
corsair HX620
6GB OCZ Gold DDR3
gigabyte x58-ud3r
Win 7 pro 64 (legit).

Thanks for any feedback.

I may have d/l an older version of directx at some point for bioshock which could be the problem
__________________

Kududoodoo is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Artifacting on aero.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kududoodoo View Post
So i just bought an entirely new computer and installed windows 7 and everything was working fine. About a week ago my display began artifacting every so often, most commonly on the Aero effects or right click menus of windows. It usually occurred right after closing a game. It also occurs on my steam overlay and on some in-game pause menus.

I turned off some of the aero effects and i rarely see it on my desktop anymore, but still get it in the other areas.

A friend with higher tech experience than me said something of this nature happened to him once and the problem had been directx and the only way he could solve it was a reinstall of windows.

Is this really a necessary step that i will need to take?

If you need specs:
directx 11
radeon 5870
core i7 d0
corsair HX620
6GB OCZ Gold DDR3
gigabyte x58-ud3r
Win 7 pro 64 (legit).

Thanks for any feedback.

I may have d/l an older version of directx at some point for bioshock which could be the problem
Did you go to the ATI's website ? That link is for a driver that covers your card. Did you try updating your card's driver from there ?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Artifacting on aero.

yes i downloaded the newest drivers and then once it started happening uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers.

I've also noticed that if my computer has been running for a while, I am able to turn aero back on without the artifacting. At this point though, if i open catalyst, my activity is glitched at 99% for some reason and my card temperature is 58 degrees instead of the usual 37 when its idle or the 86 when its actually 99% activity.

I did see in some thread somewhere that someone believes the power saver mode on the card causes artifcating for him. Perhaps this could be the reason?
Kududoodoo is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Artifacting on aero.

Is your card one of those factory "overclocked" editions? If so, you may need to turn down the specs to stock. 86c is very hot, but that may be normal for your card, I can't say. You may want to look into after market cooling solutions just as a precaution. It'll help your card run longer, anyway.
edit: I don't know anything about the power saving mode, sorry.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Artifacting on aero.

pretty sure its a standard card. clock speeds are 850 for GPU and 1250 for memory, but right now at idle, my speeds are 157 and 300 (respective). I have messed with the clock speeds since it began and nothing seems to change.
Ill check the clock speeds again when im glitched to 99% again and see what my speeds become. It seems like it is a problem with the power saving mode and ill probably have to wait for new drivers or something like that.
Kududoodoo is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Artifacting on aero.

Use Driver Sweeper from Guru3D and remove all references to your Graphics Card. Get the latest driver from ATi and install them again. Sadly it is a common issue with ATi and Win7. The drivers are not that good for a lot of people.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ultimate Guide to: Windows 7 Aero Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-10-2009 06:51 PM
Weird GPU Artifacting yzmxer608 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 07-11-2009 12:11 AM
Help with finding out whether aero is supported!! mt205 Laptops and Notebooks 11 12-22-2008 02:24 PM
Vista - Can Not Get Aero To Work Ver.Mary Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-24-2008 04:29 AM
Geforce 6600 and Aero... genericxs Microsoft Windows and Software 9 09-01-2007 08:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.