Applying thermal paste in a GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2015, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 26
Default Applying thermal paste in a GPU

So guys, here's the thing. I have a Asus geforce 210 SILENT. I use to play skyrim, fallout 3 and NV and some other low end games. I brought it about 2 years ago i think, really not sure, been using it since. I never reapplied thermal paste in it. I brought some a few weeks ago to use on my cpu. It is no silver 40 whatever., it was the only one i could find. Ill send a pic. Should i reapply it?uploadfromtaptalk1426787548488.jpg
__________________

lucasfalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

Mainly up to you lol. Are you having overheating issues with the card? Does your case have proper airflow / what's your room's temp?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 26
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

1. Im not sure, Realtemp says it is at 60C while playing portal 2 with ''high'' graphics, is that too much? 2. My case is really simple and old, not for gaming (see the pic for an idea.) 3. I dont know for sure the room temperature, but it is 30c outside and it isnt too hot inside, i dont think the temperature here is making it a difference (i know it makes difference, what i mean is that it isnt making it hotter)uploadfromtaptalk1426790067281.jpguploadfromtaptalk1426790095859.jpguploadfromtaptalk1426790126443.jpg
lucasfalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

60C is fine for a GPU.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 26
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

Ok thx. And hey, im thinking about putting another cooler somewhere. Where should i put? Any ideas?
lucasfalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 26
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

My cpu is aways at 60 - 67 i want it to cool down a bit
lucasfalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

PLease stop using Realtemp.

Monitor your GPU temps using a program like GPU-Z or MSI Afterburner. That being said, I doubt you're having any major heat issues and paste is your last concern. If you're worried about it then keep the side panel off and point a box fan at your PC.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brazil
Posts: 26
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

Ok. But its realtemp good for cpu temps at least?
lucasfalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Applying thermal paste in a GPU

No. I've said this all over the boards too.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Applying Thermal Paste on GPU fairfieldfalconsfan System Upgrades 10 12-29-2010 09:59 PM
Does applying thermal paste void CPU warranty? Flanker New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-27-2005 07:11 PM
Re-applying thermal paste- need suggestions for cleaning old layer DoomUK Overclocking and Modding 4 02-22-2005 05:03 PM
how much damage can you cause by not applying thermal paste? dafydd_brown Overclocking and Modding 6 10-29-2004 06:11 PM
Applying thermal paste Laser Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-09-2004 05:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.