Aperture size and RivaTuner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Aperture size and RivaTuner

I have a USB keyboard, so I can't go into my BIOS and change my aperture size. is it possible to change it in RivaTuner? and if it is, how do i get to the point of changing it?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to regnak
Default

My usb keyboard lets me go into the bios. You could try a USB -> PS2 adapter to get it to work. Also, you should have your Aperture size at 128mb if it's lower or higher change it. I cannot tell you where it is in Riva Tuner due to having an ATI card. Hope someone can tell you that.
__________________

regnak is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

USB-to-PS/2 adapters won't help me out either, i already tried it.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

For the 6600GT you want 128MB, and I have no idea how to do that in RIVA, I use my BIOS.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

what your aperture set at, CS? i've heard that the lower the aperture the quicker the fps, because it forces somethign to use the video card's memory, but don't i want it at the highest it can go?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well I know 128 cards can go to 256 but it is not recommended. I have mine at 128.

Now if 64/128 makes any difference I am not sure, but that is what I have it set at.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

have you tried any other settings?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

No, but tomorrow I will do a little test and see if 64/128 has any difference, because I am getting tired -_-
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

You have a 128 card and you are running your aperature at 128? LOL. That is a bad idea dude.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 02:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

I have a 64mb card and I'm running with a 64mb aperature...

What exactly DOES the aperature do?
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.