APC trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Unhappy APC trouble

Well, last night (Dec. 26th), the power flickered for a split second. All of the ups's were fine, except the most important (imo) - mine. The battery kicked in, but then it emmited weird noises and my computer just shutdown before I could do so myself. It continued making satanic noises until I shut it off.
A while later, I plugged it back in to test. All seemed fine, so I just left everything. Today, (Dec. 27th), I try to turn on my computer. All is fine until the OS refuses to properly boot. The hdd was corrupt and damaged. I also discovered the mobo was partialy fried. I haven't tested everything yet though.
So, off to APC's website I go trying to get reimbursement for my hardware and data loss. My ups had up to 25,000 dollar protection for life. I talk to live tech support, they were helpful. They gave me a number to reach tech support to explain and file a EPC (Equipment Protection Claim). I find out the process can take up to a month and I would have to ship my pc and ups for unspection.
Upon closer look to their EPP (Equipment Protection Policy), I find out that reimbursement is based on Orion's Blue Book (http://orionbluebook.com). Now, I am thinking crap; I will problably only get 400 dollars for my hardware, none for my data loss. The blue book will not take account for BH-5 ram, a early Venice cpu (high oc's), my data loss, or any other the details. I am screwed.

My specs are as followed:
Amd Athlon 64 3000 Venice core (1.8ghz, 512kb L2?)
Dual 512mb pc3200 sticks of ram; one of which is BH-5
Seagate Sata 80gb hdd 8mb cache
MSI Neo4-f Mobo
Dvd & Cd Burner

__________________________________________

This all was APC's fault a all of the other units, and all electronics without ups's were not harmed. There was no storm; the sky's were crystal clear. I guess I had a faulty ups. I think there is something wrong with the Inverter.



Does anybody have any ideas of what I can do? I appreciate any help.
Attached Files
File Type: txt chat_ups.txt (4.5 KB, 54 views)
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Bump. Please help. This is important.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I my self would provide them with all reciepts and ask for them to pay for each part that was destroyed because of there UPS being faulty, and if they didn't then see how much it could cost to take them to court. I think there EULA and all that crap only protects if a surge gets thru, but they can't do **** with there EULA and TOU or w/e it's called if it failed because of a faulty part in it. But i'm not sure since I didn't read the papers.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I think I am going to call tech, ask for someone in America I can understand. I will then explain and try to get somehing out of this. It is their faulty part, it is their fault. They should pay what my hardware is worth and more for my troubles. Not to mention my data loss too!
I worked hard to get the money to build this rig, its only a couple of months old.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Ok. I just talked to a manager, he answered some questions. They problably won't pay for dataloss, but when I file my claim paper, I can put details of the hardware. They use the Orion BLue Book for estimates according to the Manager. The whole process may take a months time (!).
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Default

I really feel bad for what happened to you, nothing is more frustrating than data loss and damage to hardware.
I have dealt with APC on numerous occassions at work, where I am commonly sought to help with various network issues. The state of Florida has contracted with APC for years. I have made countless calls to thier help desk and always get some idiot on the other end who can't speak intelligable English and thier turn-around for resolving problems is sometimes months.
I resolved to never use them personally, and I have been using Belkin UPS's for years. I just bought thier 1100va model, and it has been performing great. I fried one of thier UPS's when we had those three hurricanes come through a few years ago, and they replaced it in about a week.
__________________
I\'m already visualizing the duct tape over your mouth...
Beyeohazard is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

They will also be sending me another UPS unit. If I get enough money from apc to build a new pc, the leftovers will hopefully get me this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16842107114

I also forgot to mention in my last post: The manager said 90% of the time you only need to send the ups.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

Sevoma call them up and tell the tech support your prob.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

digima$ter, if you read the thread, you would see I have called tech support.

I just received a new apc ups unit from fedex about 20mins ago. The ups looks refurbished, but the model is a little newer than mine.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.