Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2008, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Well, my main rig (specs in sig) isn't power on this morning. Last night we were haveing power troubles at my house. Computer shut off a couple times while I was using it, and the the power came right back on, and so did my computer, and worked fine. After the second time, I decided to shut my computer down, so I went ahead and shut it down. The power continued to go on/off throughout the night.

So then this morning I decide to turn my rig back on. Everything powers up, the fans, the lights, the optical drives, and I hear the HDD's initialize. But, instead of the normal single POST beep, I get 2 long beeps, and then the PC shuts itself down. It powers itself back on, and then gives me 2 long beeps again, and then just sits there with all of the fans running/no display on the screen. Looked it up in my motherboard manual, and it said that it could be a graphics card error. Swapped out the GPU with my GTS 320, and it still does it. Swapped out the PSU with a different one, still does it. I tried to clear CMOS by removing the battery just in case that could have been a problem, but that didn't fix it either. I'm thinking that it could be the motherboard now... Anybody else got any ideas that I could try before I decide to contact Gigabyte and get a new board?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Sounds like the mobo to me. Get a UPS before you blow up my old GT.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Lol, yeah, I was planning on getting a UPS today when I go to work.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Bad PCI-E slot not card suspected there. The main problem is finding the actual code chart for Gigabyte's models since Award is commonly used and sees all kinds of variations from one manufacturer to another.

For further help on Award BIOS problems contact:

Unicore Software (1-800-800-BIOS) handles all upgrades for Award Software BIOS products.
Their e-mail address is sales@unicore.com.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

The code chart was in the back of my mobo manual...

1 short: Succesful boot
2 short: CMOS setting error
1 long, 1 short: memory or mobo error
1 long, 2 short: monitor, graphics card error
1 long, 3 short: keyboard eror
1 long, 9 short: BIOS ROM error
Continuous long: graphics card not seated correctly
Continuous short: power error

It just gives me 2 long, and then shuts off/restarts does the same thing. So I figured the closest one to that was the "continous long" one.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Not seated fully or possibly a bad slot would account for it. Have you tried the first card on a different case to see if it works ok there? That would rule out a bad card and point at a board problem since a second working card ran into problems as well.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 01:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

Stated in an earlier post that I tried my other GTS 320 which I know works, in this PC and it did the same thing.

Already requested an RMA, and it was approved already. So now I just gotta send my board in. Good thing I have a laptop and spare computer, heh.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 07:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Anything else to try before I decide its the mobo?

The idea of testing the card on another system would be simply to see if the card was still good. With a second card seeing the same problem you know as well as I do that the board would become the focus from there on.

Gee? I guess laptops do come in handy at times afterall?!

I've pondered but never got around to actually buying one. I usually end glued to one desktop if not bailing someone else out on their's!
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.