Any way to test is Power Supply is dead? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 01:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to loopholes202
Default Any way to test is Power Supply is dead?

Im not quite sure if its dead or not, because when I power it on without mobo/anything in it, nothing happens. even with mobo nothing turns on.

None of my 4 fans, no LEDs. nothing

There are 2 cords that I cant for the life of me find out where they go, and Im sure I'll regret asking this because its prolly a simple fix, but Im going to ask anyways.

So, Help?
__________________

__________________
I should put something here
loopholes202 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 02:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

What kind of PSU is it?

One way of checking (look in the manual first) is too jump start it. I dont know about yours specically yet but you can jump the black and green (right next too each other) wires on the 20pin ATX connector. Then plug in the fans and nothing else. Turn on the psu and the fans and psu should turn on. This is what i did on my OCZ powerstream 520W and it tested dead. If you need more help, just ask.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 02:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to loopholes202
Default

Allright, ill elaborate

Its a 400W PS iCute *I wish they told me prior to buying*

Also, the fan does NOT turn on when I flip it on, now, these fans are incorporated into my case, so it will still work, right?

Right?
__________________
I should put something here
loopholes202 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 02:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Howto create a test PSU
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

http://www.thegrafixguy.com/index.ph...oducts_id=1952

thats what I use and it works really well if one light lights red and the rest green or all red its dead but if all green then its good!!!
jamesbond09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.