Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 15
Default Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket?

Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket?

Machine: Acer Aspire M5700, desktop machine.
HDD & DVD are all SATA.

There is a 34pin IDE socket on the mother board for floppy drive.
Is there any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on this 34pin IDE socket?
A converter or adapter?

Thank you.
Vicky
__________________

Vicky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket?

I don't know of any adapters for that, but an add-in card would work.

Newegg.com - MASSCOOL PCI Card, 1 external SATA + 2 internal SATA and 1 internal IDE Model XWT-RC018
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket?

I don't think you can do that. Pretty sure that slot is only meant for floppy drives.

A 40pin is going to be extremely slow compared to your SATA drive.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 15
Default Re: Any way to install an IDE 40pin HDD on a 34pin IDE socket?

Thank you, both of you.

I was thinking about adding an IDE HD to my desktop machine for installing Windows XP. Maybe I'll use a SATA-IDE converter.

Thanks.
Vicky
Vicky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.