Anti-aliasing Bust - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2011, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: None of your business
Posts: 100
Default Anti-aliasing Bust

I have a ATi Radeon HD 5770 running with a quad-core Athlon on a 400w PSU (If you say the psu cant run this configuration, you are very wrong). When i first got the card it ran perfectly fine, played all my games on a 1080p TV with all the settings on maximum. But a couple months ago, i noticed that the anti-aliasing would only go up to 8xmsaa, instead of 16xmsaa, like it had done before. Not that i have a problem with 8x, but i love quality, and i would love the quality of my games to go up higher, so I was wondering if anybody knew how to get this back up to max AA, and if anyone could please tell me how.

Thanks all!

PS PORTAL 2 WILL BE THE MOST EPIC GAME EVER!!!
__________________

qblake is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

Uhh, you are very wrong, actually. While the card will run on 400W, several parts on your system may not be able to run at its full potential. You need at least a 500W at that configuration. What make of PSU do you have? Full specs?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

agreed with MoM, I wouldn't recommend running a quadcore and 5770 on a 400w psu. But to your question, there should be an option in the Catalyst Control Center to override AA, or there might be a force option in-game.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: None of your business
Posts: 100
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

I GOT ANTIALIASING UP TO 24x!!!

Full Specs:

AMD Athlon II X4 635

ATi Radeon HD 5770

2 HDDs

6GB DDR3 1066 RAM

2 ODDs

thats about it, i dont have a dedicated sound card or anything else
qblake is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
What make of PSU do you have?
Nevermind
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

An Athlon II X4 will have about a 95W TDP, and a 5770 definitely uses <100W
I'd expect total system power consumption to be less than 220W under load including drives, RAM


Anyway, what AA does is blur edges of objects so that they don't look jagged.
I think there is such thing as too much AA, causing unnecessary blurriness, and thin objects (like tree branches, fences) can often be blurred to the point that they become invisible.

I generally prefer to use about 4X AA even when performance is more than enough to run higher levels.

Instead of increasing the AA level, I'd rather use a different mode of AA that provides better quality (such as edge-detect, which can be set in CCC).
Edge detect is quite expensive for performance compared to regular MSAA though, but is better at detecting actual edges (hence the name), so textures are generally sharper while more edges are anti-aliased.

Actually, edge-detect AA uses less vRAM but uses more shader time. So it has the most benefit with older games that are less shader intensive.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

Well, that 220W plus all his other devices.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Well, that 220W plus all his other devices.
But with the cpu and gpu out of the way everything else should easily be 100w or less combined. Provided it's a good quality 400w psu I don't see it having any problem running that system.

One of the Anandtech writers is running a core i7 965x and HD 5850 crossfire on a 450w psu so you can get by with a lot less power than most people think.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Well, that 220W plus all his other devices.
It would be including his other devices.
Let's say all 4 cores and the GPU are at 100% load; that would be ~95W + ~65W = 160W (5770 is half a 5870, which uses about ~120W in Crysis)
Adding the RAM (10W), two hard drives (~7.5W each, that's if they're both being used), and the unlikely event that both optical drives are also being used all at the same time (12W)
If all devices are being used at the same time, including the CPU + GPU, it may be close to 220W.

The main benefits to having a quality power supply are:
* not likely to die
* better efficiency at varying loads
* cleaner power (no ripples, spikes, stable voltage)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Anti-aliasing Bust

I was always taught to get higher than is required. So if you want to upgrade, you have the room. I'm sure the 650 on my built is overdoing it, but if I can keep it for awhile..

Well, plus I'm OCing my CPU. But I doubt he's doing that.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bioshock and anti-aliasing kershner PC Gaming 5 02-20-2009 01:38 PM
STALKER Anti Aliasing spikoman69 PC Gaming 2 06-25-2008 09:43 AM
HDR or anti-aliasing? pianoplayer New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-13-2008 06:50 PM
Anti-Aliasing bobby8890 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-31-2007 06:38 PM
Anti-aliasing, what is it? jonny_uk PC Gaming 16 07-15-2006 04:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.