Another Lock-up Problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2006, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default Another Lock-up Problem...

Hey guys, first post!

Found this site looking for an answer to my problem...

I'm running an XP2600+ chip on an MSI KM4M mobo (MS-6734). I've got 2Gig of PC3200 memory from PNY (it was the best I could afford at the time!) taking both memory slots, on-board sound, and an nVidia 6600GT powered AGP card. The OS is WinXP Pro with all current updates.

In the tower I've got a DVD and seperate DVDRW, 2 HDD's and I'm running 5 USB 2 ports, and 1 USB 1. Of those ports 2 are taken for the mouse & KB, 1 for my wireless adapter, and 2 further ports have powered devices in them (HDD and printer)

The machine is running
Heres the problems.

First off, the random crashes. Ever since I upgraded from 2x512 2700 memory, the machine will sometimes lock up completely. No response form the KB or mouse, and if the monitor happens to have gone to sleep, it won't come back on, telling me that it's a complete system lock. Further to this problem, occasionaly when the machine is turned on (and quite commonly after one of these lock-ups), I get a BIOS beep indicating bad memory.

I've cleaned and re-seated the memory, used an airduster on the slots, and made sure everything inside the case is as it's supposed to be, well seated with clean contacts. The lockups are completely random, no warning, and there's no one program that causes. I can rule out a software problem because of the BIOS beeps, but I'm buggered if I know why this is happening.

The second thing may shed some light on the matter. Sometimes when using the front USB 2 port, I get the error informing me that I have a high-speed device plugged into a low-speed hub, which I know to be wrong. At first, I thought this was because of the length of cable I'm using on my wireless apadter, but it has also sometimes happened with USB thumb drives.

The only thing I can think of is that my PSU is getting a little creaky. It's one thing that I haven't fiddled with, though the BIOS output for the voltages seem well within limits (less than 0.2v deviance normally). I'm running a Jeantec 350w.

Does anyone have a clue as to why I suffer these problems? It's getting to be quite a hazard, I'm in my final year at Uni studying 3D, and sometimes I need my machine to render for days at a time. One fouled render could cost me a deadline.

Sorry for the long post, but I think it better to be thorough.

RitchieTheBrit is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 05:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6

No suggestions? I don't want to be money on another PSU if thats not the problem. Especially because it took me a good days hard work to sleeve my PSU's cables! (that isn't the problem, I did it about 2 years ago, and never had a glitch until the new memory was installed)

RitchieTheBrit is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72

I have an idea, even though you probally have already fixed it since your post was a long time ago...

Put your old memory back in, and see what happens... Even though its brand new, bad ram can lock up a machine. I know I have bought good name memory (Corsair, Mushkin, etc) and had to go through three or four sticks sometimes to get one that works with my particular setup. Thats what I would try....

Also the front USB thing sounds to me like the ports in the front arent USB 2.0 friendly. I bet the USB ports in the back (seated on the motherboard) work just fine...
Knowledge is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 08:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6

Thanks for your reply, Knowledge, but the problem is long sorted.

It seems that my nVidia 6600GT was trying to pull too much power from the PSU 12V rail. In theory, it should have handled it, but I've been advised that the card should have its own 12V rail, and unfortunately, I couldn't do that, so it was on the same rail as one of my HDD's.

I've since gone back to my old GFX card (Radeon 9600NP), and I've had no problems at all! It's all a little immaterial, though, coz I had a bit of a windfall, and the machine is getting a bit of an upgrade now!

Heh, the one thing I did was to make sure I bought a GOOD PSU!
RitchieTheBrit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.