Another boot up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Another boot up problem

I read the booting problem thread, but it seemed that if I posted my thread in a reply it might get hectic.

Ok so I left my computer on overnight for maybe the 3rd time in a row. When I came back to it in the morning I found it turned off. I thought maybe my little brother turned it off, but unfortunately thats not the case...
See when I turned my computer back on, it turns on. BUT IT DOESN'T BOOT UP! NOTHING comes up on the screen, no beeping, no Bios, zilch, nada, NOTHING!
I started to think 2 things
1) Processor failed/motherboard failed
2)Something in my computer isn't getting power.

Please help me! I know its redundant to ask these questions, but I need help...BAD!

I play FPS
I alternate with my little brother, in turn we go for up to maybe 8 hours.
I leave it on overnight.

Now the power works, I believe. The fans in the back turn on...thats basically all I can say. The thing is that my motherboard's fan has NEVER worked, so its hard to diagnose the problem that way.

Note: When I turn my computer on , I have 2 lights come on, on my computer tower.
1)The power (green)
2)The processing light (red)
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

Okay, this is a very vague problem, so where to start....

First off, you say the fan on your motherboard has never worked? I hope you're not reffering to the heatsink fan, which is mounted on top of your heat sink which basically keeping your processor from frying. If that fan is indeed not spinning, or never has, your processor could very well be fried to bits.

Assuming thats not the fan you were talking about, lets take the basic troubleshooting techniques for this. Start by "stripping" your computer down to the bare essentials. Leave only one stick of RAM, the hard drive, and video card (if not use onboard video). If the computer turns on sucessfully after that, then you've narrowed it down to a hardware problem. If the problem still persists, try swapping out all sticks of RAM with maybe a set from another computer (if the speeds match). Also try swapping out the power supply.

It may be a lot to do, but these are the basic troubleshooting techniques that people like me go through every day (I'm a computer technician ). Let me know how it goes.
__________________

__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Well my model is an NF7-s
Here is a picture of the product
http://www.overclockzone.com/spin9/r...s/DSCN0915.JPG
its the small tiny fan.

But I have a big fan ontop of my processor...

Anyways, I tried disconnecting my harddrives, my cd drives, and all I have left to do it disconnect my Ram. I was reading more posts about this topic, and it seems it could possibly be my power supply. Someone said that their mobo doesnt 'post', and the person that replied said that it was because of his power supply.

Does 'Post' mean, like when the bios comes up and shows text?
If so, I get no 'Post' either..
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

I just tried your suggestion about removing parts, and I found that it does not work for me.
What now?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Oh and I don't have an extra power supply, thats the one thing I didn't remove/replace
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

POST is an acronym for Power On Self Test. This happens as soon as you push the power button your tower. It usually lasts about 5-8 seconds. The finale of it is a happy "beep". This is done totally with the hardware, and has nothing to do with your OS, so when it doesn't post, it most definately points to a hardware problem.
__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

yeah, no beep is heard at all.
How can I test if its my CPU or motherboard?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is not good to run a pc for extended periods of time with a faulty chipset fan, you may have damaged the chipset and that could be your problem. it could be a power supply issue too.

the red light is not a processing light, it is a hdd activity light. that info does help though. if the power light and hdd activity light come on and stay on it means the pc has stalled fairly early in POST i.e. probably at cpu, memory or video stage. my first guess would be the memory.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 05:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default

You know I've just had the same problem as you, and i think it's because it wants you to revalidate your windows or something. I was just playing games on my pc one day, and i decide to restart my pc to refresh performance... then it wont start up anymore. Same problem as yours, i turned it on, everythings running (powered up, fans on) but the bios wouldnt start. the red light is just on right there but no activity.
I took my pc to my friends house whos computer is just as old as mine with a 445 or watevers mother board slot. I swapped my hardrive with his computer, and it loads up fine, but then after it finishes loading windows, it wanted me to revalidate my windows MCE. I didn't know wtf that is but i know my harddrives not broken, but it also wouldn't run on my computer.
As of right now I don't really have a solution.. lol, i just decided to get a new motherboard and processor along with a new HD.
catax is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 02:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

I'm going to replace my motherboard, and sell my rig.
I don't want to though :[
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.