AMD XP + asus A7N8X - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2006, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default AMD XP + asus A7N8X

hi,
below is my computer specs:

Asus A7n8X
Asus V9520
512mb Kingston ram
40GB HD
AMD XP athlon 1800 / 2400+

the processor suppose be 2400+ , but in BIOS show it is 1800+
I already check the serial number and confirm it is 2400+ , so is the BIOS setting problem

IN auto setting, Multiplier is 15X ,and FSB is 100MHZ= so is 1800 +
when i change FSB to 133MHZ , it became 2400+ , but when i play game it will auto- restart


got any idea??


thanks
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

try updating the bios
__________________

Sui is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

i try before
no use ... strange !!!
madking153 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

very common problem with them, put your bus speed to where it should be. Problem solved

crap I didn't see the other part of your post, clean you hsf it's probably full of dust.

And you should think about updating the Stock HSF, those socket A's run super hot.

And install the pc probe that's on your mobo cd and see what the temp and voltages are like. And post a screenshot.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

dont understand wat you mean bybus speed where it should be - that mean leave it 100MHZ?
madking153 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

If your multiplier is 15x then it is a 2400+, so the FSB should be at 133MHz. Maybe some other settings are messed up. Set your BIOS to default settings, then set FSB to 133.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

I think his ram isn't up to taking 133, as he said it restarts.....

Try to play with the ram settings in your bios, slow them all down a bit, it maybe just can't take running at 133.


Right click on My Computer >> propertys >> Advanced tab >> Settings under start-up and recovery.

The third option under system failure should be automaticly restart, Unclick that option. Then when your system locks up it will give you and error message... Write it down then give it to us, we'll go from there.
Sui is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Look for RAM divider in your BIOS. In my BIOS there's an option called HCLK-33 which lowerst the RAM frequency by 33 MHz.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.