amd x2 performance issue (not same as prev topic) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2006, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to trig
Default amd x2 performance issue (not same as prev topic)

bought a computer from cyberpower, you can see the specs in my signature. to make a long story short, about 30-60 seconds after logging into windows xp sp2, my computer becomes very sluggish. When you look at task manager, on the cpu performance tab, both cores are jumping all over the place, and eventually work their way to 50-55% on cpu usage. this has been happening since day one. I did mem test, switched video cards out, including switching from sli to normal. nothing fixes it. I sent back to cyberpower, they kept it for a month, then said it is the mobo, which was a gigabyte k8n sli pro. I upgraded to the asus. got it back, and it still does the same thing. they sent me a new cpu, but it is liquid cooled, and i hear it is real easy to screw that up. any ideas as to what may be the problem before i risk messing this cpu up? oh, and i was trying to switch the hard drive from my old pc to the new one to see if that was the problem, but couldnt get it to boot. so i reattached everything and now, the first core isnt jumping all over the place, just the second core, according to the cpu performance history chart. and also, on the processes tab, system idle is at 99% the whole time it does this. hope i make sense, this is my first post.
__________________

trig is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Does a certain program use the CPU?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to trig
Default

no, i just sit and wait for it to start going nuts. i have no programs open, and it starts climbing up. on the processes tab, the system idle is at 99, so nothing is going on as far as I can tell.
trig is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Can you give a screenshot of the task manager in the processes tab?

Press ALT + Print Screen, then paste it and save it, attach it here.
turtile is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to trig
Default

here you go. this is about mid-way through the process as it climbs to about 30-35% now, apparently just on the second core. I sorted by the cpu column so u could see what processes are being used. It's a bitmap, 16 bit i think. Put it in paint as I have not taken the time to load any other programs on this pc in case I end up having to send it back. I appreciate your trying to help. I had trouble getting this down to the permitable size, hope you can see it.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp tskmng4.bmp (91.8 KB, 15 views)
trig is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

This is an issue with AMD multicore CPUs where the processor does not effectively use the Cool n Quiet feature and results in random thermal throttling, which is what you are experiencing with your speed ups and slow downs

Follow these directions and I believe it should solve your problems:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=81429
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 12:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to trig
Default

i actually found something very similar to this, and did all those things. which actually stopped it from being both cores running 50-55% to what it does now,which is the second core running 30-35%. It sounds like i am doomed to either deal with it or send it back. thanks for all the help.
__________________

trig is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.