AMD X2 Or Pentuim d? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 01:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
TFB
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Default AMD X2 Or Pentuim d?

Amd X2 or pentium d 840? which one is better? and why, and how?
__________________

TFB is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i would say the X2, the original and definitely the best!!! i have seen little proof of the power of the pentium d but the athlon X2 4800+ is pretty much the most powerful cpu on the market. but basically the real answer to this question comes down to the same criteria as the normal amd vs. intel question. what do you want to use the cpu for?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
TFB
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Default

mostly for gaming
TFB is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

then without a doubt the X2. now to decide which one to get. a manchester core: 3800+ and 4200+ or a toldeo core: 4400+ and 4800+? toledo is a lot better than manchester because it is basically 2 san diego cores where as manchester is 2 venice cores. however toledo is a fair bit more expensive.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

for gaming, the X2. AMD CPU's are better for games, plus future games wil support dual cores.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Intel rushed out with their dual core and messed up, it takes a long time to interact with each core, but with the X2 the interaction is like this see that was fast
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
TFB
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Default

ok my next question is: ATI X300 or NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Turbo Cache which one is better?
__________________

TFB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.