AMD phenom II temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default AMD phenom II temps

I just recently built a Phenom II build... and im idling at around 40c.. with a Blue Orb which cool'd my AMD 5000+ at 19C before :/


is this a normal temp? im using AS compound too..
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Idle temp doesn't really mean much, what are your load temps?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Idle temps do mean a little bit, if a piece of hardware is simply idling at a very high temperature, it is not good for the long term stability of the product. I did a quick google search, and your idle temp seems a bit high considering the circumstances, but a few others have had temps in your range.

What are your load temps?
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

under load its been about 50c
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Well only a 10 degree jump seems a little dubious, but if that is what it is then you're more than fine.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

hi, im running a phenom II

those temps are not that bad.
my temps are 28-32 idle (depending on what clock im set at) to 40-50 load (depending on clock and program)

you could use a better cooler and better thermal paste if you want better temps, also case airflow could mean 5-10C difference for the cpu temps too.

but i would not be too worried about your current temps, but you can improve it.

boy i hate typing on a laptop
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 01:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Don't mean to jack, but I can't send PM's for some reason...

To the OP, you've got almost the same darn build as I do.. I'm gonna order a PII 940 soon. Did u have to flash that MoBo when u got it? I'm having nothing but problems with my rig lately. I think my CPU may be fried. Or my RAM.



Send me some pics of ur rig!
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
hi, im running a phenom II

those temps are not that bad.
my temps are 28-32 idle (depending on what clock im set at) to 40-50 load (depending on clock and program)

you could use a better cooler and better thermal paste if you want better temps, also case airflow could mean 5-10C difference for the cpu temps too.

but i would not be too worried about your current temps, but you can improve it.

boy i hate typing on a laptop
Well im using Artic Silver 5 didn't think you can get much better thermal then that... and im also using Antec 1200 case... which has better air flow then any case if you ask me..

and i agree i don't have the best CPU cooling.. but it kept my X2 CPU at 19c constantly....

but what are normal temps? when should i worry about my temps.. above 60?
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
Don't mean to jack, but I can't send PM's for some reason...

To the OP, you've got almost the same darn build as I do.. I'm gonna order a PII 940 soon. Did u have to flash that MoBo when u got it? I'm having nothing but problems with my rig lately. I think my CPU may be fried. Or my RAM.



Send me some pics of ur rig!
well.. i didn't have to flash it for boot... but Windows would reconize the phenom II as unknown.. so i had to update the bios with a flash drive with F3 bios.. simple process... just use Qflash when you turn on the comp then just select the bios off ur USB flash drive and update it.. and then thats it.. Good mobo...



















EDIT: also question for everybody.. i don't quite understand HWmonitor.. i was reading my temps by all 4 of my cores.. or is CPU under system temps my actual CPU temp? Confused.. thanks


__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: AMD phenom II temps

Bump, tryin to find out why my Cores runs hotter then my actual CPU temp.. im running at 47C on all cores now and 30C on my actual CPU temp.. on idle
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X4 Sets 3DMark06 World Record thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 32 02-28-2009 11:42 PM
Intel to Retaliate to AMD Phenom II Overclocking Feat, Plans Demonstration at CES '09 gurusan New Technology and Products 40 12-04-2008 04:27 AM
AMD Phenom FX CPU Expected in 2009 veg1992 Polls 9 09-09-2008 02:53 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD unveils Phenom logo TRDCorolla1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-16-2007 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.