AMD CPU Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2012, 05:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default AMD CPU Question

I have an old AMD Athlon 64x2 5600+

I was wondering if there is any type of driver for this CPU?

I'm using Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate, but I remember on Windows XP there was this thing I needed called (dual core optimizer) I think with Vista/7 they got rid of the need for that but was wondering if there was anything else, I've been missing for years.
__________________

ImTorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: AMD CPU Question

You don't need anything for Windows 7. The dual core optimizer you're speaking of was the download AMD put out to help with gaming performance in WinXP for applications that bypassed the Windows API for timing. It's not needed (nor is anything else) for anything newer than XP.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: AMD CPU Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
You don't need anything for Windows 7. The dual core optimizer you're speaking of was the download AMD put out to help with gaming performance in WinXP for applications that bypassed the Windows API for timing. It's not needed (nor is anything else) for anything newer than XP.
Thanks, I didn't think so just didn't want to be missing out on something. I remember a few games that were buggy before the dual core optimizer back then. Was a nice fix.
ImTorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop CPU question; AMD 64 MK-38 or Intel Dual Core? Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 8 07-05-2007 05:54 PM
question about amd cpu zerotolerance New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-21-2007 06:24 PM
AMD 64 CPU Fans and CPU Fan Warning Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-10-2006 11:55 PM
AMD CPU Question meefle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-28-2006 08:18 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3400 32/64bit CPU S754 Clawhammer OEM (Question) tomcowe New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-23-2006 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.