AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2011, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

hi guys, my *newer cpus mobo has apparently been shot:
dell inspiron 530
3gb ddr2 RAM
duo core processor
winXP 64 bit

Im trying to install the old graphics card (foxconn 630G01 REV A00{internet tells me its a AMD/ATI radeon 9500}] into a:


HP pavillion (i assume just says hp :x)
AMD sempron 34002.0 ghz processor 32 bit
1 gb of ram

also the current graphics is on board nvidia geforce 6100

im running into several probelms first off the device manager does not detect any hardware changes in plug and play (does this mean my graphics card is not compatible with this cpu?)

also im not sure if i have to uninstall the nvidia before i can install the AMD but i do not want to uninstall it before knowing my device manager will read the AMD

i have no installation disk so i have to get the drivers from the internet.
ive already installed the Catalyst AMD driver manager but it also does not detect it.

the AMD site says this particular card has been moved to a legacy structure. im not too computer savy so im not sure what im doing but im not brain dead and could follow instructions i just need a little help.

if you need anymore details just ask thanks a million
__________________

i_hate_RAM is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

Maybe it's not compatible with your motherboard.
__________________

timmy.norris is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

It is compatible most likely. Only way not to is to not have the correct slot.

That said, you need to check the slots, take pctures if you want and post them for us to double check.

And welcome to the forum.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

thank you <3
im almost certain the card is compatible if fits in the black slot perfectly and it powers on when i power the computer (it has quite a loud fan) ill get working on the pictures for you guys also there is no other slots in which it would be able to fit

this is it installed if you looke closely you can see its black port which is IDENTICAL to the one in the previous cpu, would you like me to remove and get pictures?
i_hate_RAM is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

Have you tried plugging the monitor into it?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

yea ive done all the basics
well grief got the best of me and i got a:
dell studio xps 7100
AMD Athlon 2 quad processor
ATI radeon HD 4200
3gb ram 64 bit OS win 7 for only 399$usd


so im stoked still have my old vid card gonna save it for when i need it one day. thanks for the welcome here ill use this forum whebnever i need to :3
i_hate_RAM is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

Nice upgrade. Not to badly priced... $300 for the tower.

Good luck with it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 03:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: AMD/ATI Radeon 9500 series problems

Congratulations with the upgrade! It sure is really a bargain.
__________________

timmy.norris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for 8600gt/gts or 9500 series. Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 10-20-2008 09:17 PM
Need help with Radeon 9700/9500. Bl4cKDoT System Upgrades 1 10-17-2006 01:18 AM
Upgrading Radeon 9500 to X300? EatGreenCrayons Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-15-2005 11:16 PM
PS2/Gamecube, Radeon 9500, Games, Etc Stoic Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 02-06-2004 08:50 PM
radeon 9500 pro Seloce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 04-07-2003 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.