Alternative power on/off switch NEED HELP

fleego17

Beta member
Hey hope someone can help me here!

My friend gave me his old Dell Dimension 1100 (Desktop A)as the mobo was fried. I diagnosed this after disconnecting all IDE/Power cables etc etc..now I'm a noob and ive never built a computer in my life but im sure you all know the famous dell diagnosis (ABCD LEDs) ...as per the manual after disconnecting all components and powered at the mains, none of the LEDs lit up and the fan powered on = mobo fried)

Idea #1 - Purchase a new mobo

A replacement mobo for this just as expensive as buying a fully working pc in used but good condition.. so.....pointless, but I found a solution (almost)

Idea #2 - Rebuild a fully working desktop - using Desktop Aand another
old spare Dell Dimension 8200 (Desktop B) which had no PSU and had been lying up gathering dust. I removed all the components from within and rebuilt a fully functioning desktop/reinstalled winxp/drivers and its running perfect.

Desktop A + Desktop B = Desktop C

-----Main Issue----

To power on Desktop C It has to be powered off at the mains then standard bios reset/remove CMOS battery for 30 secs while touching the inner metal casing to ground myself (not fry any working components inside). After that I power on at the mains again and it and loads my new installed windows within 30 secs and is running superb!

Reason for the issue

The power button cable from Desktop A connects directly to its own (now useles mobo) ...but does not connect directly to the new Desktop B mobo as this model has a front control panel/FCP which then connects to the mobo.
The FCP has 2 x USB ports and an audio connector along with a 16 pin lead that connects the USBs, audio and the frickin power on/off button.