Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :( - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 05:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

It's unlikely, but possible.

EDIT: With computer problems like this, if you don't have any spare parts to test then your only real option is to replace stuff one by one. Since you already have a pretty solid inclination that it is the RAM, just replace that and see what happens.

Although, before you replace your RAM, can you list your PC specs? I just thought of something. Some RAM requires higher than stock voltages, and most motherboards default to 1.8V or something for RAM. If you have some high performance stuff that requires like 2.0-2.1V, then it will be very unstable at 1.8V.

So, post up your specs.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

I hope thats it
my Ram in the OZC Reapers @ 2.2 ! the 1066 mhz

I put it to 1.9 bc a friend of mine told me that was good enough?
__________________

johnnyrocc is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

you should run it at the stock voltages, also check the timings make sure they are with in spec.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

If the RAM is rated for 2.2V, put it at 2.2V. It may seem like a lot, but if that's what the RAM requires then it is only normal. Undervolting will cause instability.

And yes, like philbar said make sure the timings are correct as well.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

By stock do you mean preset on the comp. or the V the Ram said (2.2)

also what do you mean by timings?

Qty. Product Description Savings Total Price
1 LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model GH22NS30 - OEM
Item #: N82E16827136152
Return Policy: Limited 30-Day Return Policy
$24.99



Item #: N82E16822148298
Return Policy: Limited 30-Day Return Policy
$79.99
1 OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2RPR10664GK - Retail
Item #: N82E16820227289
Return Policy: Limited Non-Refundable 30-Day Return Policy -$7.00 Instant

$20.00 Mail-in Rebate
$72.99
$65.99
1 GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Item #: N82E16813128358
Return Policy: Limited 30-Day Return Policy $20.00 Mail-in Rebate
$134.99
1 Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
Item #: N82E16819115017
Return Policy: Processors (CPUs) Return Policy
$194.99
Subtotal: $580.94


this is it with a 430 psu, geforce 7900 gt, and a WD black caviar 500 gb HDD
johnnyrocc is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

The default timings for that RAM is 5-5-5-18 and the default voltage is 2.1V.

So, in your BIOS, find the memory configuration menu and change the voltage to 2.1V and make sure the timings are 5-5-5-18. Usually auto should work. You can check once you're in Windows to see what your timings are with CPUz.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

Im on windows now?
johnnyrocc is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpuz_149.zip

Download this, run it, and click the memory tab.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(

Ok downloaded and clicked the link. What am i looking for?
johnnyrocc is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Almost wishing i had bought a comp. from best buy :(



Yours should look something like this, except Cycle Time (tRAS) should be 18.

Post a screenshot of the memory tab if you're unsure.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comp died. dont know what the prob is :( siddanth3 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 08-24-2008 07:10 PM
Comp slows almost to a halt during long DL. rebnvodka Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-21-2008 12:47 AM
HELP ME!! Just built first comp bor3d System Upgrades 18 10-08-2007 05:41 PM
This is why you never buy a pre-built machine Brinson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-22-2007 01:15 AM
New comp doesnt turn on Gregz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-22-2007 07:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.