All video is choppy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default All video is choppy

Ok well I have a computer, doesn't really matter what specs are because this problem only started recently.

BTW Athlon 1.2G
256MB
40GB
ATi radeon 128

so anyway recently when I try to view movies or play games or even as i'm typing, it's sort of lagging, or it is choppy. By choppy I mean choppy my movies are playing with only several frames shown, when I play games like Counter-strike my frames per second drop to like 5 and I'm frozen. DOn't know what the problem is but it is annoyitng me.

I have tried several things to fix it, like install new video card drivers, yes the correct way
Tweak Video Card settings and other things such as scan for virus/trojan/spyware but none was found. I have done other things so please ask what else I could do that I may already have done anyway.

I'm gonna try defraging now but any suggestions please would help !!! GRRRrrrrr
__________________

greenbubble is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

its probably either spyware or a psu issue , download sandra
http://www.download.com/3000-2086-10018691.html
get into "mainboard information" scroll down to the middle there youll see "voltage sensors" take a screenshot or type em down and ill tell you if their stable , also scan online at these sites
http://www.kaspersky.com/virusscanner
http://www.ewido.net/en/onlinescan/
http://www.webroot.com/consumer/prod.../freescan.html
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default

ok i downloaded and instlaled but I can't find mainboard information.....

Can it be because of bad Memory?
greenbubble is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

just scroll down a bit

and no it cant be the ram as you had no bsods/random restarts/file currptions
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Well a few random restarts here and there while playing some games but not often
Attached Images
File Type: bmp sandra2.bmp (50.8 KB, 34 views)
greenbubble is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

your psu voltages are stable , however your cpu temperature is very high (not critically high but still) i suggest youll get better cooling and also it may be the cause of the random restarts you expirence every once in a while , but i doubt the cpu temperature is what causing these slowdowns. have you scanned in the sites i suggested above? if not then do so
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default

yea i tried what you said

I cleaned out some stuff with the scan but still it's not working...

In game its still dropping and when i exited now from it when i type is lagging as well....It's not too bad right now but a second ago it was....
greenbubble is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

goto start-->run-->sysdm.cpl get into hardware-->device manager and expand "ide ata/atapi controllers" double click each ide channel (one at a time) and take screenshots of the "advanced settings" tab , also run nero infotool (if you dont use nero then get it standalone ftp://ftp6.nero.com/InfoTool.zip) and take screenshot of the "configuration" tab
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Yea ok I did what you said here are the pictures. The last one "via bus master ide controller", didn't have advanced settings so I omitted that.

Btw Jeremy thanks alot for the help, most people would just give up and say I don't know what the problem is, buy a new computer or replace ur memory, or video card.....You seem pretty computer smart ......So thanks for your help hopefully we can fix this !!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: gif ide1.gif (73.6 KB, 54 views)
greenbubble is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Default


__________________

greenbubble is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.