AGP vs PCI - e - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2006, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Default AGP vs PCI - e

First off is there a simple way to tell which slot you have? I know that all the standard ports are PCI and then the one set apart from the others is either PCIe or AGP...how can I tell the different though? Also is there a huge performance different between the two? (talking lower end of the PCIe spetrum, not the $400-$500 cards)
__________________

NightShade01 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Here is a picture showing the difference between AGP and PCIx cards:


Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be an absolute standard on the color of the ports. The AGP ports are almost always brown and PCIx ports are often beige-ish like the other PCI ports, but this isn't always the case.
__________________

M3Cosmos is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

as for performance , pci express would be better ,but with the lower end cards its not by much , agp maybe be the older but it still performs well so if your stuck with an agp port it really isnt that big of a problem if youd even consider it a problem although pci express cards are a bit cheaper
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Talking

Well thanks for the info everyone it did help i wasn't sure which my computer had, turns out that it is PCI-e and I have an ok card. It wasn't $400 dollars but somewhere around $200. So I like it. Also i was hoping that there wouldn't be just a standard on the color of the port b/c i'm color blind so if that was the only way to tell I'd be in trouble lol
NightShade01 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

out of topic but M3Cosmos are u Polish ?
because the picture u posted says Your Pc (twoje PC)
out of curiosity
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek
out of topic but M3Cosmos are u Polish ?
because the picture u posted says Your Pc (twoje PC)
out of curiosity
Haha, no. I ripped that off of a search from Google Images, but my boss is Polish.
M3Cosmos is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

~good to know~
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.