AGP Video card to PCI Slot?, Will this work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

AND he's basically running on 192MB, since his video is grabbing up 64 of his 256.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
AND he's basically running on 192MB, since his video is grabbing up 64 of his 256.

Not quite.

I had the same graphics on my old computer, the computer had 248MB of RAM. It depends on how DELL sets up the graphics chipset.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

He's not going to be able to upgrade his motherboard enless he gets a new case also. I would just go ahead and get the PCI card.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Guys, he just wants a little help, he does not want to go and build a whole new computer.

Waleed, my uncle has that same computer, and I have been working on it for a while now.

I would suggest you grab one more stick of 256mb memory, and go ahead and grab that 5500 PCI video card.

Stick this in there:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141002

Along with this: (Preferably)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814103016

Or this: (if the other one costs too much)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145087

With this stuff, you will actually be able to run newer games at the lowest settings, and pre 2004-ish games and mid to high settings.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default

Also consider: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16814139010R

Cheaper and faster than the 5200 posted by Dexaroni. Not sure how it compares with the X1300 but the difference will be extremely subtle.
westy159 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

That 6200 should do the job quite nicely.

And then you can get more RAM as well.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 06:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Alrightry then. A new case and mobo wouldn't cost much more than you are asking him to spend and he already has the video card. But that's just me.......Dell.....I should have known!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 07:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

No, you are wrong, because then he would just be paying money for outdated technology. He has an AGP video card.

What he has is just fine, and even if he did get a new Mobo, he may have to get new RAM, a different proccessor, a whole new computer.

Really, 256mb of RAM is 25 bucks, and the 6200 is 65. 90 bucks, and he wont have a half bad computer for basic gaming and productivity.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 08:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for all your help i am going to get that $25 ram and a new PCI video card,, it makes more sence buying a PCI and memory than get a whole new MOBO, its too complicated, thank you so much

will post my results..
waleed is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

WOW you guys really got into this one HAHA.. You all have good points for sure. He could get a mobo/CPU combo on Craigs list for cheep. But wasn't that video a trip some idiot did that just to screw with people im sure.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.