AGP Aperture - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 07:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default AGP Aperture

To what size should the AGP memory aperture in the BIOS be set to? I read someone saying something like half of the graphics card memory. And someone else said as little as possible! So which should it be?
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I think as little as possible in your case...

Try both options and run 3dmark, that will be your answer.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Yeah, I never understood that either. I figured you had to set it to the amount of memory your video card had =/
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

In your case, a minimal setting would probably be best. The aperature size is how much of your regular RAM you dynamically use to help your vid card. Since you have a card with 512MB already, there's not much sense in tying up your RAM.

However, that RAM that you assign to the AGP slot is, as I said, dynamically used. That means that it is only used when it is needed, and remains part of normal RAM when it is not needed by the vid card.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Great stuff, thanks guys! I'll run 3DMark and see if it makes a difference, and I'll report back!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I ran 3DMark06, and I can report that the is no difference in performance between setting the AGP aperature size at 512MB or 32MB. It could be cause I have 512 MB video memory, and the system does not need to use system-memory I think! Thanks for your replies!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That's good to know for me as well, Thanks!! I do know that if you use onboard graphics this makes a huge difference up to the amount of video ram the IGP supports. And It will come directly off the amount of system ram available. (on alot of systems, not all)
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.