After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2008, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

Hey guys, after buying a new case and moving everything over to the new case, I'm having a problem.

Basically, I have everything plugged in and whirring nicely, but when I turn the computer on, I get to my motherboard boot screen (del to go into bios, blah blah blah), but it just sits there. I'm not exactly an expert, so I'm having trouble figuring out the problem. I'm thinking my hard drive or DVD drive isn't plugged in right, but after fiddling around I just can't seem to fix it. My DVD drive also seems to be not receiving power, which could be it. But that's just my hunch. Any help?

I have a ASUS M2N SLI Delux Mobo.

I should also mention that the "beep" that happens when I normally boot up is nonexistant.

Could really use some help here, especialy since warhammer preview weekend is on and I would like to try it
__________________

Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

I've figured out how to clear CMOS, and I tried it, but no go

I can't get into bios either, I dunno if it's because my usb's aren't working or it's just stuck. Really could use some help here
__________________

Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sometimes in Ohio, sometimes Indiana
Posts: 57
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

reseat your ram. thats my advice. every time I have a problem with not getting the "Beep" it been a ram problem.
cwr89 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

holy crap that worked, but now I'm getting a

"disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter"

>.<

Any help? >.>
Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

It also seems like my DVD drive isn't getting any power (I can't open it, no green light).

It's definitely plugged in correctly, I have no idea what's going on.

Ugh.
Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

Hello,

Disk boot failure means yoru hard drive is not hooked up correctly.

Best bet. Check ALL your connections. They seem to have come loose or not been securly seated when you transferred to the new case.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

Alright then, I'll look at my hard drive again.

I think my DVD drive is borked as well, it won't get any power/open, but my other one will >.<

Is it necessary to have a DVD drive hooked up to the HDD cable on the mobo?

Alright, going to check my HD......
Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

Hello,

No it is not necessary. IT could be that your jumper settings are incorrect as well. Check that out.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

Alright, I hooked my HD right to the PSU, still no go.

Any way to tell if it's broken?

Jumper Settings are in BIOS correct?

What should I look for?
Scionix is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Transferring Rig to New Case, Having Boot Problem

Hello,

Jumper settings are right on the hard drive. Not on the BIOS. they are the little things on the back of the hard drive when using IDE.



You can not have both devices hooked up as Master. 1 has to be master and the other has to be slave.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu dual boot problem g2k556 Linux and Open Source 4 05-18-2008 11:32 PM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
I just had the weirdest comp problem ever, can you figure this out? Emper0r Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-03-2007 04:06 AM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.