after refitting ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2010, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default after refitting ram

after refitted the RAM the machine wont boot up though the machine does start up but theres nothing showing up on the screen. any idea why it happens? everything works fans/heatsink except the mouse and keyboard though the 8pins cable is connected on the motherboard.
__________________

geforce8800 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 01:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: after refitting ram

Hmmmm, I have had that problem a few times with my pc, normally it had to do with oc trouble but in your case it sounds as if that is specific ram problem.
Move the ram into another slot clear cmos for about 5 minutes and reboot your pc to see what happens.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: after refitting ram

cmos? erm if its the ram it should beep right?
geforce8800 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: after refitting ram

Yes, when you put in your ram it should beep one time and you will notice your keyboard light and mouse light on letting you know.
The pc is starting up, if you don't see any of that even the monitor fails to flicker on, I would definetly consider it a ram probelm as you are telling us.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: after refitting ram

theres no beep, no light on the keyboard nor mouse but the monitor has light but its not showing anything..
geforce8800 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: after refitting ram

ok, I know today is presidents day but see if best buy or possibly one of the computer shops might have some ram for you to buy.
Before I leave tonight what kind of ram did you put in there and what are your system specs ?
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: after refitting ram

So computer was working, you reseated the ram and now it is not working?

Have you reseated them again?
Any chance monitor connections got loose when you were messing with the computer? accidentally plugged into onboard gpu when using a card?

Full system specs please.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: after refitting ram

i didnt touch anything apart from the RAM. yes it was working 5mins ago before i touched the RAM well the base unit(CPU) is working apart from that i mentioned above.

Asus p7p55d-e pro
Core i5
Gskill 4GB 2GBx2 DDR3 1600Mhz
Sapphire 5870
H50-1 Hydro Heatsink
OCZ XtremeModular 700W
geforce8800 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: after refitting ram

recheck your internal connections in case you knocked something loose. especially the gpu connections.
reseat ram again.

If not try one stick at a time in different slots.

if not reset cmos.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: after refitting ram

Look into getting your ram checked out by a local computer shop.
They'll probably charge 10.00 to test it but atleast you'll find if the ram is the main problem or not.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
RAM Question LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 3 05-20-2009 12:11 PM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.