After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2008, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zythyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Question After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Since installing my new Q6600 stuttering and general lag appears whenever I start an application like Audiosurf or the NWN2 Toolset or Half-Life 2. Any ideas why?
__________________

zythyl is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

What OS? Have you done a repair install of XP? What have you done?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zythyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

i have 4gb ram @ 800mhz

vista 64-bit installed

and it seems it stutters and is generally slower than my e6850.....
zythyl is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Did you do a fresh install of Vista after the new mobo and CPU?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

what do u have cooling it..the q6600?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 01:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Could be wrong but as Makaveli213 eluded to earlier I'm pretty sure vista requires a full reinstall after a cpu change like that.
plongstaff is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Most likely you will, XP is pretty forgiving about hardware changes, but when your swapping that much stuff then it will probly make you re-install.

Vista is much more picky
plongstaff is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

I believe a repair install works, if I remember right.

If possible, remove the hardware drivers that are currently installed before you install them into your new system.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 01:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I believe a repair install works, if I remember right.

If possible, remove the hardware drivers that are currently installed before you install them into your new system.
A repair install would work. If Vista had it. With Vista if you do a major change like this you WILL have to format and reisntall the OS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: After Q6600 Installation, Stuttering Occurs! HELP MEEE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
A repair install would work. If Vista had it. With Vista if you do a major change like this you WILL have to format and reisntall the OS.
Oops, yeah, forgot he said he has Vista for an OS . Saw that plongstaff was talking about XP...would help if I read the whole thread.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.