ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2007, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

My friend has just got Talk Talk free broadband today. The router/modem is connected to the phone socket directly via the microfilter and the phone is plugged in as well.

The internet works fine but the landline phone does not ring when it's called although a call can be received and made just no incoming alert. The dial tone goes bit weird as well sometimes a engaged sound but sometimes the normal dial tone sounds.

The phone was plugged back into the socket alone and it rings fine and dial tone is normal.

Can anyone help?
__________________

callmewilson is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

have you got adsl filters in every phone port which has something going into it?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

theres only 1 phone socket, it has filter plugged into it and 1 lead for modem and the other for the landline phone.
callmewilson is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Smile Re: ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

PROBLEM SORTED, THE ADSL FILTER WAS FAULTY!
I bought a replacement from B&Q this morning, cost me 9.98 (UK) but it's all fixed now, phone and internet all working as they should!

***TOPIC CLOSED***
callmewilson is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

nice to hear it.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: ADSL Broadband "Phone Doesn't Ring"

WOW you were ripped off big time, i got like five filters for about £3 from PCWorld
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 computers sharing 2 ADSL lines neeeel Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-23-2007 12:19 PM
ADSL Sharing bajancane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-17-2007 11:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.