Adding space to existing drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default Adding space to existing drive

Ok heres the situation, one of my hd had 200gb that was windows, the other part of the drive had 50 gb to linux. In windows i just deleted the linux portion because i no longer want linux. Now the question is how do i format the 50 gb so that it is just added on to the existing h drive, so that it doesnt create its own drive (not i do not want to mount this new partition, i just want it included). Anyone know, or is the only way to do this to wipte the whole drive?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

When you go to the drive properties do you see the 50 gig partition? If you do your should be able to simply format that partition for XP.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

The problem isnt that i cant partition it, its that i want it to be added to an existing drive letter. I dont want another letter, ive already got 3, I want it to be added on to the rest of the drive letter E which is for the same hard drive as the 50 gigs.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Not going to happen without repartioning the drive. Partitions are virtual drives and mimic hardware. In order for the Kernal in XP to reconginize the virtual dirve it has to find it somewhere and so it is given a phyiscal address (in XP Executive services). You have one drive with 3 partiitons and your system will show drives C: D: E: even though there is only one physical drive. It would be like trying to merge LA and Pamona without changing the maps city limits....ain't gonna happen!! Back up the critcal data on the main 200 gig partition, reformat the dirve. I'm not a consistent user of Partion Magic but I would Google Partiiton Magic and see if you can expand the partition, removing one of the virtual drives, while perserving the DATA. >????? Post what you find out as I wuld like to know myself.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.