Adding a really old joystick to my pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Adding a really old joystick to my pc

I've used an old sound card which is a creative sound blaster thing so I can hook up my old joystick which is just as old, it goes by the name of a PC Phantom Logic 3, I dont have any drivers for it however windows detects it and Im trying to add it so i can use it on bf2 and fs2004

Windows detects it however when I go to "add game controller" Im not quite sure which one it is

http://images.ciao.com/iuk/images/pr...ct-5433866.jpg

Pic is tuny all I could thind

~Nick
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

When you say...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
Windows detects it however when I go to "add game controller" Im not quite sure which one it is
What options do you have?

Can you post a screenie?
__________________

Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

I sure can...



EDIT: I've tried the custom option bu I have no idea what to put, all these axis and buttons confuse me
Nick is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

Dear god! - Just a few options! - Looking back at the image you initially posted, i can see 6 buttons, 5 on top and one trigger button.

Looking in Contol Panel, there are a few 6 button configs you can try. Probably worth trying one of those?
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to GhostRecruit
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

ok, Whats your joystick, If its one with a 3d twist it will have 4 axses + a throttle.

Im not sure you can put it through your soundcard though as the port your using is designed for connecting a midi music keyboard up. (like ive done).

If you wanna use a non usb joystick you'll need a motherboard with a joystick port. I would recomend buying a 20 quid logitech attack 3d joystick. Much less hassle.

Hope this helps

3rd Recon FTW!
GhostRecruit is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggVeyron View Post
Dear god! - Just a few options! - Looking back at the image you initially posted, i can see 6 buttons, 5 on top and one trigger button.

Looking in Contol Panel, there are a few 6 button configs you can try. Probably worth trying one of those?
yeah Ill give it a shot, thanks for the helpful advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostRecruit View Post
ok, Whats your joystick, If its one with a 3d twist it will have 4 axses + a throttle.

Im not sure you can put it through your soundcard though as the port your using is designed for connecting a midi music keyboard up. (like ive done).

If you wanna use a non usb joystick you'll need a motherboard with a joystick port. I would recomend buying a 20 quid logitech attack 3d joystick. Much less hassle.

Hope this helps

3rd Recon FTW!
Dude, I wouldnt put that link to our site on here cos it may be classed as "spam"

The port Ive got it in is the yellow gaming port and I used to use it on my old pc fine its just finding the right configuration, it aint a twist one LOL, If i cant get it to work then im gonna get a cheapo logitech like you suggested
Nick is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

Good Luck nIcK!
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 06:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

LOL Thanks, ot seems to work ok with the config: 6 Button joystich with/POV and throttle, i just need to confgire it proplery
Nick is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 06:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

Nice one! - Nice to hear it's working for you
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to optimist4613
Default Re: Adding a really old joystick to my pc

Is it USB?
Because mine did it automatically. Very confusing
__________________

__________________
Dells are good for somethings bad for others! Not!
:freak:
optimist4613 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In itunes, when adding video files Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-07-2008 12:27 AM
Adding a HD 3870 to my HD 2900xt 1GB Wog2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-12-2008 04:06 PM
Adding case fans Higach Overclocking and Modding 4 01-02-2008 02:32 PM
AOL Explorer: Adding trusted sites adriwise.gamgee Internet Software and Browsers 5 10-27-2007 05:52 PM
Nokia Adding “Lightning Detector” To Phones Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 7 05-30-2007 09:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.