Acer T135 and Radeon 9500 Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to ESchine
Default Acer T135 and Radeon 9500 Issue

I recently bought an Acer T135 desktop computer with an integrated video card. I put in an ATI Radeon 9500 128MB card from an old system that I had. The display would frequently freeze and wouldn't run any games at all (tested on COD)... After turning the hardware acceleration all the way down the card will appear to work fine for a short period (although still won't run games), but will randomly lock up the screen, freeze, and then turn black, forcing me to reboot. This is a frequent problem and will occur even with no applications running and almost immediately after turning on. I have ruled out a heat issue (box fan blowing in computer) and am convinced it is a driver/compatibility problem. I tried drivers from ATI and those recommended by Acer. I have seen some other people in other forums having problems with ATI and Acer.... any suggestions????

Hardware specs:
Video Card:
http://www.dealtime.com/xPF-Althon_M..._9500_21361081

PC:
http://www.dealtime.com/xPF-Acer_ASP...3100_160GB_XPH

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

ESchine is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Install the latest driver and control panel from ATI website then turn off Fast Write and put your AGP Speed setting down to Off in the control panel/smartgart section. I have had simliar problem like yours with 9550 card and VIA chipset.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to ESchine
Default

Thanks for the quick reply Law... will doing those things allow me to play games like Call of Duty without a problem?
ESchine is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It worked for me.
Law is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to ESchine
Default

Good stuff Law... I didnt turn the AGP Speed off, but lowered it to 4X, and so far it's been running flawlessly... I appreciate all your help.
ESchine is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Hello guys,
I just purchased Acer T135 and try to disable on-board video.
Can anyone tell me how to do it?
Bios does not have option for video card disabling.

Thanks in advance.
multiscanbio is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default Never mind

I found a way to do it. Never mind.
Thanks.
__________________

multiscanbio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.