Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2011, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

Hey guys,

I was wondering if I could get a little advice. My Acer tower shorted out a couple weeks ago, so I changed out the power supply. the inside of the tower was a little dusty, but I have heard if I blow it out, I could cause more shorts. So I removed the graphics card(its fan wasn't fully running) and the internal fan, cleaned them and so far have only put the internal fan back in. Now when ever it runs multiple websites, applications, or any other proccess I hear a loud schreeching kind of noise and my SpeedFan application shows the tempature rising. It usually gets somewhere around 90 degrees before it shuts it self down. Has this happened to anyone before? what are my options here?


Btw I am running a Intel Pentium D Proccessor


Thank you for your time in advance!!


Radical
__________________

Radical is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

Get HWMonitor and post a screenshot or tell us the temps.

Are you running on a stock heatsink? Did you clean the fan as well as the fins on the heatsink? Compressed air should not harm your system. You might want to reapply some thermal paste.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

I am not exactly sure how to put a print screen in to this thread so I will just list off the components.

THRM value = 77C High = 96C
SYST value = 39C High = 39C
TMPN0 value = 67C High = 91C
TMPN1 value = 39C High = 39C
TMPN2 value = 23C High = 23C

Yes everything is stock inside except for the graphics card, that I haven't put back in yet. I will try what you said today and let you know how it went.

Thank you for your help! I didn't even think about the thermal paste!

Radical
Radical is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

It doesn't show your processor temps?

To print a screenshot, press the "prnt scrn" button above your delete, end, home keys. Go into paint and paste it (ctrl + v). Then upload it to an image host like tinypic.com
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)





Again,Thank you.
Radical is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

I have the exact same problem, down to the screeching and model of computer. I can even boot into BIOS and watch the CPU temp reach it its max threshold and shutdown.

It is a cooling issue

In my case the CPU fan is broke, it rotates intermittently. I got to this forum by trying to search for a replacement fan.

I wouldn't over think this...
georger1974 is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Acer Am1610-U1202A Cooling problem(I think)

Exact same issue... well, somewhat. PSU fried and replaced, but since, I have noticed the intermittent "screeching" sound. However, I have yet to notice it overheating. Overall, the system still runs fine. (will try some new thermal paste just to be safe though)

As far as the CPU cooling fan only running intermittently... isn't that a setting in the BIOS to run it like that? (As opposed to running ALL the time)
__________________

medicineman360 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire Boot problem.. NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-21-2010 02:25 PM
Problem with Acer Aspire 3680 decaydancefbr Laptops and Notebooks 0 08-01-2009 10:57 PM
Problem using Acer Recovery CDs squashynose Laptops and Notebooks 8 05-12-2009 11:30 PM
acer aspire 3100 usb problem??? trailrider894 Laptops and Notebooks 1 04-19-2009 04:16 PM
acer graphics problem. revenge2 Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-09-2007 11:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.