Accessing an Internal Hard Drive via a USB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default Accessing an Internal Hard Drive via a USB

Hello!

I have a Hitachi 80GB internal hard drive and I am trying to access teh data in my hard drive by connecting the internal hard drive to a 32 pin connector which has a usb connection on the other end (Is it called an IDE cable?). My laptop detects the USB connection but an error pops up saying that the drivers are not installed properly and as a result I cant see the drive.

Does anyone have any ideas? At this point I am planning on buying a USB external hard drive enclosure.

Any help would be appreciated.

Jai
__________________

fandango123 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to ibelous
Default

try connecting the hard drive while the laptop is on. then goot your control panel and double click "Add Hardware" let it run through and windows should detect it and install the proper drivers by itself.
__________________

ibelous is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I tried doing that and It showed me a list of hardwares to choose from and I could not find anything that says hardrive there.

Would you know which item I have to choose from that list?
fandango123 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

If it's a 3.5" drive, then you need an external power cord to power the drive (one with a molex connector).

Are you using one?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, I have a power cord connected to the hard drive and a 32pin female connector at one end and a usb interface at the other end.
Essentially with this hardware my hd becomes an external HD with the only difference that its not in an enclosure.

I also tried changing my hd from master to slave, but that did not work either....Any suggestions?
Thanx
fandango123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.