ABIT IP35-E using 2 hard drives problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default ABIT IP35-E using 2 hard drives problem

I am wanting to use two hard drives at once but i am having a problem.

When i connect my 2nd HDD to the motherboard and turn on the pc initially the pc displays the name of the HDD (I think) On the left and the capacity of it on the right. On this screen it also says press any key to continue, but if i do not press any keys for about 5 seconds it starts to boot up anyway.

It boots up fine till it gets past that Windows XP loading screen (The one with the blue loading bar). The problem is, after this nothing is displayed at all. I have been in bios and changed the boot settings so that my normal HDD is first but still i get this problem.

Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions.

Thank you in advance for any helpful posts

Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ABIT IP35-E using 2 hard drives problem


Are these SATA drives or IDE? Have you checked your jumper settings for them if they are IDE to read Cable Select?


I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: ABIT IP35-E using 2 hard drives problem

Hi thanks for the reply.
I don't think there's a problem acctually i think it is just me being inpacient.
It is IDE cable for the second hdd and SATA for my normal hdd.

I put in my old 18GB hdd and it works fine , the one i was having trouble with was my 80GB one. I noticed that this 18GB one slowed down the boot up a little bit so this may be the same case with the 80GB one and i am just being too impatient.

Thank you for your reply
Dempoi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interchanging laptop hard drives mikieb Laptops and Notebooks 7 03-13-2008 11:42 PM
Hard Drive Problem Jerrod Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-12-2008 07:20 PM
Problems during opening hard drives besan Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-17-2007 02:41 PM
External Hard Drive Problem golfer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-07-2007 08:15 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 01:14 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.