A8N-E (asus) BSOD - bios rom checksum error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 05:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default A8N-E (asus) BSOD - bios rom checksum error

hi,
need some help...

HARDWARE:

ASUS A8N-E mobo (nforce 4)
amd 64 3000+ (1.8 ghz)
300 gb SATA seagate
1gb ddr Hynix (inserted in the 3rd slot as shown in manual)
BIG 6600 (256mb)nvidia graphics card
Bios version 1006
sony dvd writer

Installed software:

. win xp (sp2)
. chipset driver ver. 665
. sound drivers (realtek ac'97 (al850))
. amd 64 cool and quiet software
. asus ai booster

i have not loaded the network/firewall drivers cause i dont need them now.
(new at this so if i need to post anything else please let me know)

anyway, bought all this just recently and assembled the pc.... worked fine for a few days then started restarting at random times... sometimes while playing game (doom 3, thief) or while doing normal stuff...(showed BSOD) and then after restert just does all the start up checks and again BSOD. then if i manully restart shows it takes a little longer to start up then before the windows logo screen with the bar can appear... it says i need to load required dll or kernel

then when i restart it says...

Awards Bios BootBlock ver. ....
copyright 2000

Bios Rom Checksum error

please insert cd rom ....

floppy...

i also tried to insert the mobo cd that came with package to reload the bios but just ssays loading awdflash.exe and then nothing.
after which if i restart it keeps returning to the same screen (bios rom checksum error).

i have already replaced the memory stick and the power supply (mobo technician suggested the changing of the power supply) and thought that was the problem... but problem still persists. please help
__________________

psyck0 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

u can directly e-mail if u want... need to get this problem sorted out...
__________________

psyck0 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Have you tried clearing the BIOS?
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 05:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

how does one go about doing that.... i have flashed the bios to a newer version (1008) and then when i took it to the mobo technician (asus service centre) he flashed it to the 1006 (said it was a stable version). dont know how to clear it completely and reload it.
psyck0 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 06:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There will be a jumper oin the motehrboard, from what I can see on a picture it is below the battery, put that on the other pin and middle pin.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.