A7V mobo continuous beep - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default A7V mobo continuous beep

I have A7V600x mother board with a Athlon XP 3800+...its been working find and all the sudden the computer does not turn on at all with a long contentious beep....we always had a problem with the video card so we thought it was the video card problem but replacing did not solve the problem....we still get the continuous beep like beeeeeeeep beeeeeeep each beep is about 2 sec....I try looking online but nothing really helped...wat could be the problem??
__________________

rhonjo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 01:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Athlon XP's only went as far as 3200+

a beep like that is usually memory or cpu, at least that is what is the listed cause for the code. it can however be caused by a number of things which could cause the motherboard to stall early in it's POST (Power On Self Test). if it's not CPU or memory i would guess it's related to the power supply, either the power supply itself or it's connection to the motherboard
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

yea i was guessing it was something 3000+ something but yea.......so where should I start first??
rhonjo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

unplug everything like dvd drives hard drives etc then take 1 stick of ram out and turn it on then replace sticks etc. Then try different ram slots.

If the beeping continues after doing that buy some cheap ram for testing purposes and try that. Next step personally Id lend a PSU from someone else's comp or take your pc to them and put them close together and just unplug their 4 pin and 20/24 pin connector to hook up to your pc then try again.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.