8x agp problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default 8x agp problem

ok everytime i put my settings on 8x agp in the display properties my computer will randomly restart or just give me a black screen and i have to restart it manualy. it does it when im playing games or on the web or when im on aim.
heres my specs

Amd 64 +3500
Xp profesional w/ sp2
Ultra pc 3200 (1 gig) ( 2 x 512)
Maxtor 100gig hard drive
Asus A8V Deluxe
Radeon 9600xt 128mb
(its not my psu either cause i just replaced that with a new 550w one)

i have tried everything i can think of..please help
__________________

face7 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

then keep it on 4x. But I don't see how you can change that from display properties, I thought you could only change it in the CMOS setup.

try chaging in the CMOS setup.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it may be that the video card is running faster at AGP 8X, and causing it to overheat.
restarts and crashing can sometimes be caused by an overheating video card
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

its at 8x agp in the bios as well.......i was thinking the same thing apokalipse.... is there any way i could fix that besides getting a new video card? like add more fans?
face7 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

removing dust in the heatsink and fan, apply some arctic silver 5, or even get a new cooler
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

ya...it probably wouldnt hurt to get a new heatsink...
__________________

face7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.