8X AGP Motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2007, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default 8X AGP Motherboards

I have an 8x AGP motherboard and if I wanted to upgrade to a PCI 16x graphics card do I have to buy a new motherboard or is there sometype of adapter or something? sorry for the newb question.

Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: 8X AGP Motherboards

no there is no adapter to make a agp8x slot into pic-e but there is an adapter to make a pci-e slot into an agp slot i cant remember the name of the company but it was posted a while back search for it if thats what you meant

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 8X AGP Motherboards

you need a new motherboard agp is old anyway
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: 8X AGP Motherboards

yea I figure I'll get a decent agp card for now since I broke my old one then later on when I've got the cash I'll upgrade my mobo and the graphics card again. now the question is do I go for the X1950PRO agp card or the 7600GT, which will save me a little bit of money.
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
Nick's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 8X AGP Motherboards

those graphics cards look pretty good, pci-e isnt that much better although its faster and future-proof
Nick is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 8X AGP Motherboards

be aware with changing your motherboard you will mostlikley have to reinstall windows(like i did) but pci express is the way to go and go with sli (2videocards in your computer but motherboard must support it)and get the 7600gt put it in sli

philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI P35 "Bearlake" Motherboards TheEnd187 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-27-2007 01:35 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.