8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Unhappy 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

Ive just bought a gigabyte 8800 gts 640mb & ive ordered this power supply SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration

it has 2x 12v rails 40A = 20A each.. = 40A

I know my graphics card requires 400W 26A & i read on a fourm that you need 26A on 1 of the rails not combined !!! is this true & am i in big FU**** trouble ???

Specs

Cpu : intel pentium d 940 3.2 ghz
Ram : corsair 667mhz 1gb
HDD :1x wd ide 160gb 7200rmps
__________________

kurtowns is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

That's not true. That power supply is definitely capable of powering that 8800GTS. Why did you buy the 640mb version? It's no significant boost, from the 320mb version. You could of saved yourself some money, and upgrade other parts of your system.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

No, the rails sometimes doesn't really matter much. I'm really sure that 560W PSU you got there will power up the the 8800GTS you got there. But like b1gapl said, you should have boughten the 320mb and saved some money.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

well first of that good to hear !!! i would of been so ****ed if i had to send the power supply back. Well i just thought the games r gonna be getten more more hungry so i just went for the 640mb version & im using a 20 inch lcd

You said i should of got the 320mb & spend money on buying other hardware what do you suggest i need to upgrade ?
kurtowns is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

the pentium d and more ram
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtowns View Post
well first of that good to hear !!! i would of been so ****ed if i had to send the power supply back. Well i just thought the games r gonna be getten more more hungry so i just went for the 640mb version & im using a 20 inch lcd

You said i should of got the 320mb & spend money on buying other hardware what do you suggest i need to upgrade ?
The 20" LCD I assume has a native resolution of 1440 x 900, if widescreen. And the 320mb can handle that easily.

Like peter said, a better processor, and one more gig of ram.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

yea im gonna be buying another 1gb stick soon , I would of thought my pentium d was ok ? 3.2ghz dual core ......... maybe i might buy 1 of those core 2 duo's but are the core 2 duo's much better ?
kurtowns is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

The Core 2 Duos own the Pentium Ds, it's not even funny.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The Core 2 Duos own the Pentium Ds, it's not even funny.
Nope, . They're so far apart in competition.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Nope, . They're so far apart in competition.
You mean, theres no competition.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 07-03-2007 11:56 PM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.