8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 02:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Mwave Australia: Easy Shopping Easy Life

Might find it for cheaper if you look around but that should ensure you enough power for future upgrades also. It's a dual rail +12v1 @20A & +12v2 @20A, +3.3v @ 30A, +5v @ 30A, +5VSB @ 3.0A, -12v @ 0.3A

EDIT* That site listed the wrong spec, really crappy website too. Just check the manufacture for the model and here is the real deal.

SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 12:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Thanks but in the specs on mwave it says in the graph that it has rail1 14A rail2 15A

look at the 430W one in the graph
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 01:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Wasn't there a report released that warned against using dual 12v rail power supplys??? Some sorta load issue, anyways, you should find a good psu around 500-600 watts with 30-40 amps on the 12v rail if you wanna be purely safe. Don't forget your processor and motherboard take a great deal of power to.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 02:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

So how does the 2 rails work.. do i just plug the 6 pin pci-e connector to my graphics card & it will auto use the 2 rails.. ? the 8800 gts wants 27A & this power supply that law recomends Mwave Australia: Easy Shopping Easy Life

power supply Specs. combined +12V: 36A/432W
______________________________
& heres the graphics card im buying

Product list

graphics card requirements
Minimum 400W or greater system power supply (with 12V current rating of 26A)
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 02:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

It's quite hard to find a decent price for a single +12v rail PSU, which I would prefer over multiple rails. You'll find many good dual rail PSU that will run a single 8800GTS under 500W. With most PSU today being multiple rails you'll be hard press to find 26A on a single 12v rail because the industry is leaning towards stability and safety issues. Would that mean the card will not work? That's not the case, if that was true than the multiple rails would be obsolete by now.

The card alone will not take up 26A, just remember that your motherboard also supplies power to the card. 400W, 26A is just Nvidia recommendation which includes other devices like the CPU, RAM, HD, CD/DVD and any other devices that utilize the +12v rail to be able to run a system with the 8800GTS. And room for more power when you are gaming.

That SilverStone I mention is more than enough for your system and a single 8800GTS 320 or the 640. That 430W is probably enough to run your system but just add more for room to grow unless you want to keep buying another PSU when you add more devices.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 11:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

ok im gonna get the silver stone thanks very much for your posts law youve helped big time... ,thanks
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 01:43 PM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.