8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Exclamation 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Im gonna be getting this card Product list

it has a power requirement of 400 wats + i have a 550 wats power supply but on the specs of the graphics card it says it needs 12v rating of 26A & there is a graph on my power supply that says yellow 12v 17A Does this mean i wont be able to get this card with out upgrading my power supply ??
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

do you have more then one 12v rail on your power supply?
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

I dont know.. ill try & find out
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

no im not sure the power supply is a sun pro atx- 550w
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper880 View Post
no im not sure the power supply is a sun pro atx- 550w
never heard of that company honestly. I would be that you might need a better psu. probably and antec or something of that quality. it makes a load of difference.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

I didnt really wanna spend any more money do u think ill sneak by with this power supplie & graphics card ?
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

Try it, the worst that could happen is theres not enough power and your games keep crashing, or theres artifacts on the screen, should work ok though.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 11:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

ok & if i have to buy a new power supply what about this one

Mwave Australia: Easy Shopping Easy Life

Is this one okay ?
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 11:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

that one seems ok
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 11:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: 8800 gts 320mb power supply requirement ?

ok but is 430W gonna be enuff ? 1X ide hard drive 1X dvd/rw drive 1X 8800 gts 320mb graphics card 1X chassis fan
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 01:43 PM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.