7900GT and Artifacts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2007, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default 7900GT and Artifacts

Hi All, have an eVGA 7900GT KO, I've had it about 11 months and starting to get artifacts. In games I get these lines that are attached to things that stretch out to the edge of the screen, sometimes 20 or so at a time. Also getting brightly colored dots appearing on my desktop and even on the black post screen when booting up. I tried wiping out all my old Nvidia drivers and reinstalling new ones but that didn't help. The temps on the card seem fine. On another forum someone said to underclock the card or just clock it back to factory not overclocked settings. How can I do this? It sounds like if that doesn't fix the problems I may have bad ram on the card. I'm sure eVGA can RMA one for me I'm guessing I'll just get stuck paying shipping to them. (hopefully not there and back) It was one of the original 7900GT's and I heard they had a lot of problems.

Any help is appreciated.

Shafra is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

yeah, my first thought was that the earlier batches from eVGA had some flaws. i would RMA it if i were you. to under/overclock check out ATITool Beta or use the coolbits registry hack to enable overclocking in your nVidia driver settings.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326

Thanks, I may as well just RMA it. The fact that it worked fine up until a point and then went crazy even after a complete HDD wipe and clean OS install makes me think there's something wrong with it.

In the mean time I may as well check out that ATITool beta and see how it works
Shafra is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: 7900GT and Artifacts

The card was RMA'd and had defective Video Ram. If anyone else runs into the same troubles, that's likely the cause, especially if it was an early model 7900GT.
Shafra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.