7800GS Pipes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default 7800GS Pipes

Hi,

Is there a proggie that gives detailed info about your GPU? Like the amount of pipes, ROPs etc?

I used Everest with my 6600, and it gave me all those details, but with my new 7800GS it shows nothing. I know the reference 7800 has 16 pixel pipes, but I bought the Gainward Bliss 7800GS with 20 pipes, and I would just like to see whether they really are all there!

Cheers guys!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Everest has been discontinued and is no longer being updated.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

So there are no other programs out there that could give me those details?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

That I don't know. I just know about Everest.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you could use Rivatuner, that will tell you how many pipes you have. also, if there are any locked pipelines, you can unlock them.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Thats a bit of a prob, because Rivatuner doesn't support Forceware versions newer than 82.xx, and my graphics card won't revert to anything older that 83.40 (which came standard with the driver CD). Or maybe I just can't figure out how to do it!? I spent a **** of a lot of money on this 20 pipe version of the 7800GS, and I just want to make sure that I'm getting what I payed for! Cheers
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Nevermind, I downloaded the new Everest Ultimate 2.8, and it states that all 20 pipes are there, with 7 vertex processors. That makes mine a 7800GS equal to the PCI-e 7800GT! Well, I'm happy, even though it did come with a pretty hefty pricetag! Thanks for everybody's replies!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

Where did you buy the the card. I'm thinking of upgrading to the 7800GS as I only have AGP, thx.
__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default

The reason your card has 20pipelines because it has 7800gt core instead of the 7800gs one. Gainward uses the 7800gt core instead of gs one.Thats y more pipe lines

-http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=30502
VooDoo27 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I read the Inquirer article, that's why I bought the card! Metr01973, I bought the card from http://www.overclockers.co.uk
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.