7800GS AGP card crashes - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2006, 10:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry about the confusion, I got the Antec one and what I meant to say is that the wattage is lower on the new one you suggested than the 460W on the original one. I am not sure what difference it makes but in any case it did not resolve the issue. To answer the other question, the fan on the card is spinning and I do not know what the temp is/should be. Do I look in the BIOS for this info? Also I am not sure what you mean by what else I have on the rail? If you mean how many on items are on the same cable going into the PSU then it is just the floppy and the C drive. Also, I do not have another PC with an AGP slot to try this card in. Help.
__________________

finnandoisin is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 03:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

on psus the amper rating is what counts not the wattage their likely much higher then your old psu, and keep in mind the amper rating on cheap psus is far from accurate , anyway even if the psu wasnt the issue it was still worth it as it will never fry any other parts if it will fail , a thing that alot of cheap psus do

anyway what MrCoffee & me were tryin to tell you several times is that theres a power connector on the card

and for stability you gotta have a power plug connected to it
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Guys,
I have the power connecter on the card connected. It is also connected via the C drive and the floppy. I have another hdd but I have not connected it back on the same cable yet as I thought it might be using too much power or something. I did a RAM test yesterday that took hours using memtest and it checks out OK. I doubt it is the card but I could get the place I bought it from to send me another if you think it might come from there. I need to point out that I had a Radeon 9600 that would work with Doom3 BF2 etc but then it would eventually crash. I thought this new card would solve this issue but now I cannot even get the thing to install without the PC rebooting. I looked in the BIOS for temps but could only see CPU temp 33/91 and MB temp of 28/82 but I guess these cannot reflect how hot they get when they are being strained. Any further ideas? Thanks for your help.
finnandoisin is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

did you completely uninstall the ATI drivers before installing the 7800 GS?

if there are some ATI drivers left, they can conflict with the Nvidia drivers

you can use Driver cleaner to remove the ATI drivers
http://www.drivercleaner.net/professional.html
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Tried using the utility and it removed everything that was left. Regrettably, it did the same reboot upon installation of drivers. Next please.......... :-(
finnandoisin is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try running prime95 and seeing how the system goes
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 12:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

is the card power source shared with another device via a splitter,like this?
if it is thats not good ,its best to connect the power plug standalone with no other device..

have a look on the mobo (perferably with a flashlight) and check for bad capacitors , see examples
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm

if the cards power source isnt shared with another device & theres no bad capacitors on the mobo then it might be a driver issue , are you using the latest (84.21) ?
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

HAPPY DAYS! At last I have managed to get this card to work with the drivers. I updated the BIOS on the motherboard! It was only done 6 months ago!!!! WHo would have thought that it would be THAT simple. Anyway I hope that nayone else who might experience this problem might do the same and resolve their problems in a similar manner. Many thanks for all your help and suggestions
Dermot
finnandoisin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:22 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

if its a BFG i recommend contacting them and sending it back
that is unless you havnt plugged in the power connector and such
BFG is just so easy to deal with

i got a broke 6600gt and they sent me a new one back FIRST and it ended up being a 6800gt!!

awesome guys there at work

i should also say that they could help trouble shoot you too... i didnt know jack when i called and they explained a lot to me
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 12:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

well here is my problem, i tried to install a ati 9800 pro. i first uninstalled my old drivers like the book says and then i installed the card. there is a power plug on the end of the card agp. when i plug in that power plug in to the back of the card and turn on the computer the monitor do not come on at all. but when i dont plug the power plug in the card the monitor comes on with no problem. the book says i need to plug that power plug in but i wouldnt work so i didnt plug it in. I turned on the computer and the monitor came on i installed the drivers and all is good , very good picture then all of a sudden the drivers stop working so i restarted the computer and now the computer keeps restarting after getting to the xp splash screen, over and over and over never making it past the splash screen, i tried to restart in safe mode but it just keep restarting over and over again. i took out the ati card and put back the old card and still the same thing, i have no boot disk or xp disk what can i do, what is the problem mates?

system asus mother board
512 memory
pent 4
os xp
power suppy 350w

I just brought a 500w power suppy
__________________

bumpin_records is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.