Is 600 Watts enough ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2010, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Is 600 Watts enough ?

is a 600 watt ultra X4 pwoer supply enough to run this setup

asus m478t e mother board
Phenom 2 X4 955 oc 3.8
corsair dominator 4 gb oc 1600 mhz
3 hard drives 7200 rpm
1 optical drive
and a 5770 oc
and one set of cold cathode lights

feed back would be nice asap
__________________

Desolation is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

600 watts is fine. But Ultra Power Supplies are crap and over-priced. If your shopping at TigerDirect get this.

Corsair TX650W 650-Watt Power Supply - ATX, 120mm Fan, SLI-Ready, SATA-Ready, 80Plus at TigerDirect.com

or you can pick it up at NewEgg

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

I had a few Ultra Power Supplies, they all failed on me. Stay away from them.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

600 watts is fine.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

I agree about Ultra PSUs being bad. I had a pretty 500w green modular PSU back in the day, and it failed within 2 days. I ended up taking the guts out of it and replacing them with a 500watt generic PSU to make it modular =). It was fun to tinker with it.

I recommend Antec power supplies. They are usually very good quality. I have never used Corsair, but if Slaymate recommends them then they are probably pretty good too.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

Antec is a good brand as well.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-29-2010, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

thanks for the input im probably gonna replace my power supply i keep getting random crashes and lock ups when everything maxes out and it ony happens after a while and not all the time and it only started happening when i put my 5770 video card in

when im playing a game even with no oc on anything it will lock up and crash and its bugging the crap outta me and ill get random bsod outta no where even when im not doing anything and i keep hearing a wired noise coming from my power supply area like something stuck in the fan but theirs not anything in the fan when im putting a load on it playing a game or running a benchmark

ive been trying to figure out whats causing the problem for a few weeks now it worked fine for a week then outta no where it just died one night and wouldn't boot back up till i took out video card i put the video card back in today to check it and it still works fine

anyone got any advice that could help out would be great
im rmaing the video card just to see if its causing the problem
thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me on my problem


im gonna be buying a new mother board and new ram to cause my buddy is gonna pay me for mine
Desolation is offline  
Old 04-29-2010, 04:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

k so i just left my computer on while i slept and i woke up to a long high pitched beep really getting annoyed with this computer
Desolation is offline  
Old 04-29-2010, 04:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

a long pitch beep is a gpu issue usually.

You need to check your bsod errors and see if its a consistent error or random.

It could still be a psu power issue, but it might be gpu related.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-29-2010, 09:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Is 600 Watts enough ?

well m,y computer was off the second time the beep happened and it was coming threw the speakers and it started out low then would build up to a louder whine i think its either my mother board or power supply

and how do i check my BSOD error
__________________

Desolation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giganews Reaches 600 Days Of Binary Retention Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-30-2010 04:26 PM
How many watts does your pc actually use? memory Off Topic Discussion 5 03-14-2010 08:56 PM
How many watts shopuld a decwent power supply have for a gaming PC fallenapples New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-25-2009 12:38 PM
How can I estimate how many watts my PSU should be? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-15-2009 04:17 AM
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.