6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2010, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Question 6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot.

All right. I wanted to get an extra few opinions on a problem I've been having. Hopefully a few of you can assist me.

I recently built 32 machines for one of my company's clients. E8500s, Gigabyte Boards, 4GB SuperTalent RAM, etc.

6 of these machines would not post, and gave me memory errors (you all know that familiar beep, beep, beep)

Every time there was a memory error, it was in the second slot. You could put the RAM from slot 1 in slot 2 and it would work but not vice versa. It just fried the DIMM. I'm terrified that I'll be dropped down 2 gigs across the board and have some very, very unhappy customers.

Anybody heard of this before?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

distech is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: 6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot.

Seems like a bad batch of boards I'd contact your supplier and ask for further instructions.
__________________

iPROTechman is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot.

Agreed - sounds like a manufacturing flaw.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot.

Are those dual ram sticks? You can put it in slots 3 and 4, unless you only have 2 slots. You would need to RMA the RAM, as the sticks are bad.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6 sticks of bad RAM, all in the same slot.

See, this is my dilemma. There's an equal amount of evidence for both sides. I already RMAd the RAM to my wholeseller and should be receiving new sticks by week's end.

If anybody else has any other suggestions, pm me.

/thread
distech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Upgrade Problem nsaul1211 System Upgrades 6 07-26-2009 04:33 PM
Is it ok to mix different RAM sticks? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-26-2009 11:29 PM
DDR3 Ram Sticks Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-10-2007 08:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.