500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2009, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

Well i had been having some malware issues with my PC so i decided to reformat. I booted XP pro and the format worked, but the install failed due to missing disc files. So i tried to boot some flavors of linux, ubuntu and bt3 both would not install either. I found a GateWay xp home edition boot disc for one of the stock PCs. this was the only boot disc that worked, so after that formated and installed there were problems.


Before the first format and the OS install my C drive would show as 460 GB or so, but now it shows as 231GB tottal. Im using a Maxtor 7h500f0.

Other issues came about as well, no audio drivers, no video card drivers, and whats stoping me from geting those? no ethernet, LAN connection wont show up.

If any one knows what might be causing my PC to think my HDD is 231GB or if it did get put down to a tottal of 231, how i could fix this or any of the other issues. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for all the help this forum has brought,

-Fakebird
__________________

fakebird is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

First off you need to get your drivers for you motherboard and lan so you can get online. what computer model do you have?

Once you have your drivers installed you can go update windows. I would assume you are on xp sp1 or less and that is what is causing your issue. Once you update to sp2 or sp3 you will see the full size of your drive which would be a bit below 500gb.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

Thats what i was thinking too, but i dont know what type of motherboard i have. its not a stock PC, i bought all the parts separately. I know that the mobo is Intel, if theres a place on the mobo that would indicate a model number or something of the sort i could get that. Also i can open hardware manager( if it would be listed there). Any ideas?
fakebird is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

cpu-z will tell us all we need to know.

CPUID

download it and put it on a usb stick or whatever and put it on your computer and run it. That will tell us what mb model you have.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

Well i broke my only flash drive last night, what horrible timing. Ill try cds/floppys and see what i can do. Thank you so much for the help.
fakebird is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

Just post up the mb model when you get it. If I remember correctly it is just a bit too big for a floppy.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

alright ill try a CD

manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Model: DG965WH (box1) AAD41692-304 (box2)

If you need the chip set or the rest of the info just let me know.
fakebird is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

here are you drivers.
Download Search Results!

install chipset first. then lan. go online and update windows. then install video drivers, sound and any others you may need.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default Re: 500GB HDD shows as 231GB, please help.

thank you so much! i will update those today. Youve been a HUUGE help, i would have probably thrown my HDD against a wall by this point if it wasnt for you and this forum.
__________________

fakebird is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
WD 500gb my book external hdd jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-24-2008 08:06 PM
new 500gb ext hdd jesspren6 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-16-2008 10:18 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
My HDD shows andrewsvalesen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-01-2007 06:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.